search the site
 daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > Infrastructure and Mobility Forums > Railways

Railways (Inter)national commuter and freight trains



Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.


Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old June 17th, 2008, 11:47 AM   #61
iampuking
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,411
Likes (Received): 9

Is 200km/h really needed for what is essentially an express commuter rail service? I agree that 130km/h is a bit slow, 160km/h would be fine.
iampuking no está en línea   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old June 17th, 2008, 03:10 PM   #62
Gamma-Hamster
BANNED
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moscow
Posts: 1,891
Likes (Received): 61

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebasepoiss View Post
It should be at least 200km/h.
Waste of money.
Gamma-Hamster no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2008, 07:34 PM   #63
andysimo123
wind-up merchant
 
andysimo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 15,959
Likes (Received): 72

I got the train from one of Moscows airports into the city. It was quite strange.
andysimo123 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2008, 02:46 AM   #64
Shezan
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The 80s
Posts: 16,219
Likes (Received): 591

goodlooking trains
Shezan no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 07:31 AM   #65
brisbanite
Registered User
 
brisbanite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,540
Likes (Received): 233

Quote:
Originally Posted by dösanhoro View Post
Looks nice like sbahn. 8.50us dollars is alot for a urban train ticket. Especially considering the current value of the dollar.
Reasonable compared to London Heathrow Expess which was 16 pounds when I was last there which is equivalent to about $32 US. In Brisbane, Aust its $13AUD from the airport to the city, which is about $12US.
brisbanite no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 06:09 PM   #66
beto_chaves
Here since 2007
 
beto_chaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bucharest [RO] & Vila Real [PT]
Posts: 1,810
Likes (Received): 145

Really good news!!!

Last time I was in Moscow I took about 2 hours to reach my house from Sheremetyevo airport. now things are really fast. and the trains look really nice!!

Just two questions: does anyone have a map of the line? Are there more russian airports with train/metro connections? thanks
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by beto_chaves; June 19th, 2008 at 06:15 PM.
beto_chaves no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2008, 10:09 AM   #67
nemtirev
Free Southern Ossetia
 
nemtirev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St.Petersburg/Санкт-Петербу&
Posts: 171
Likes (Received): 1

Nice idea.But what about Ukraine there are too much of politics.
Слишком много политики на Украине,чтоб строить подобное
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nemtirev no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2008, 11:28 AM   #68
X38
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Antwerpen
Posts: 4,212
Likes (Received): 22

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebasepoiss View Post
I meant this:
Great! That might be intresting for lightrail cars as well!!!
Here in Antwerp, the want to connect the standard-gauge NMBS-railway with the Antwerp tram network (1000mm-gauge).
X38 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2008, 06:53 PM   #69
X38
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Antwerpen
Posts: 4,212
Likes (Received): 22

Does anyone have an idea what such an installation cost?
X38 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2008, 07:31 PM   #70
growingup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 74
Likes (Received): 5

Well, they can't cost much because there are many of them in Spain. These are used by CAF S-120 and Talgo S-130 to change from standard gauge in HSL to iberic gauge when necessary. In addition, I think you can dismount and move them to another place whenever the HSL is expanded. It takes a minute, in fact less than a minute, to change the gauge of a complete train. Here you can see it, same gauge changing facility as shown before, this one in Roda de Bara with a Talgo S-130 ( Max. speed when passsing through is 18 km/h):



And here you have another vid showing how it works:


Last edited by growingup; June 22nd, 2008 at 07:50 PM.
growingup no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2008, 03:15 PM   #71
Augusto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PAR THR KL SIN
Posts: 369
Likes (Received): 28

Quote:
Originally Posted by rheintram View Post
The question is, do locos/freight waggons exist for this technology or only EMUs? And is it cheaper to construct this new railway or exchange all your rolling stock?
Those questions are pointless if you consider that we need a new railway anyway: the cost will be the same whatever the gauge is. And if this railway is dedicated to the traffic to/from Russia why not to choose the broad gauge? So we could have a huge "land bridge" with the same gauge and same locomotive all the way to Asia.
Augusto no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2008, 03:57 AM   #72
czm3
Automobile lover
 
czm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NYC/Miami
Posts: 381
Likes (Received): 147

Quote:
Originally Posted by Augusto View Post
Those questions are pointless if you consider that we need a new railway anyway: the cost will be the same whatever the gauge is. And if this railway is dedicated to the traffic to/from Russia why not to choose the broad gauge? So we could have a huge "land bridge" with the same gauge and same locomotive all the way to Asia.
So it would be better to use broad gauge to connect to Russia as opposed to standard gauge to connect with the rest of the EU?
czm3 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2008, 10:35 AM   #73
JoKo65
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,113
Likes (Received): 86

Quote:
Originally Posted by czm3 View Post
So it would be better to use broad gauge to connect to Russia as opposed to standard gauge to connect with the rest of the EU?
Yes.
__________________
L'Amerique? C'est l'évolution de la barbarie ŕ la décadence, sans toucher la culture.
JoKo65 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2008, 05:58 PM   #74
Spam King
Trump 2016
 
Spam King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Polanco, Distrito Federal
Posts: 706
Likes (Received): 418

Quote:
Originally Posted by beto_chaves View Post
Really good news!!!

Last time I was in Moscow I took about 2 hours to reach my house from Sheremetyevo airport. now things are really fast. and the trains look really nice!!

Just two questions: does anyone have a map of the line? Are there more russian airports with train/metro connections? thanks
Vnukovo and Domodedova both already have direct rail connections to stations in the city centre.
Spam King no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 12:46 PM   #75
Rebasepoiss
Registered User
 
Rebasepoiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tallinn
Posts: 5,296
Likes (Received): 1214

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamma-Hamster View Post
Waste of money.
Waste of money? I thought that for a big and rich city like Moscow, spending a bit more for an important link to the airport is nothing. You have to admit that 130km/h is slow.
Rebasepoiss está en línea ahora   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 03:58 PM   #76
edubejar
Registered User
 
edubejar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,375
Likes (Received): 30

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebasepoiss View Post
Waste of money? I thought that for a big and rich city like Moscow, spending a bit more for an important link to the airport is nothing. You have to admit that 130km/h is slow.
How many stops does the train make? I did not see a map so I could not see from where in Moscow it departs and if any stops are made. If no stops are made, 130km/h may not be too slow, since it's a train and not a car or some tram sharing the right-of-way with cars. Also, how far is the journey?
edubejar no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 04:08 PM   #77
Gamma-Hamster
BANNED
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moscow
Posts: 1,891
Likes (Received): 61

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebasepoiss View Post
Waste of money? I thought that for a big and rich city like Moscow, spending a bit more for an important link to the airport is nothing. You have to admit that 130km/h is slow.
I'm sure that there are much better thing to invest into than decreasing trip to airport by some 10 min.
Gamma-Hamster no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 08:37 PM   #78
Rebasepoiss
Registered User
 
Rebasepoiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tallinn
Posts: 5,296
Likes (Received): 1214

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamma-Hamster View Post
I'm sure that there are much better thing to invest into than decreasing trip to airport by some 10 min.
Ok, I would rather spend money on building better railroads than glamorous metro stations.
Rebasepoiss está en línea ahora   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 09:39 PM   #79
Gamma-Hamster
BANNED
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moscow
Posts: 1,891
Likes (Received): 61

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebasepoiss View Post
Ok, I would rather spend money on building better railroads than glamorous metro stations.
Moscow stoped building glamorous metro stations long time ago.
Gamma-Hamster no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2008, 11:18 PM   #80
Club_Dru
World citizen
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ...NL
Posts: 151
Likes (Received): 0

Amsterdam Central Station- Schiphol Station= $6,20 (15min)

From Schiphol airport there are about seven trains an hour to Amsterdam CS.
Schiphol has 6 underground railway platforms (Intercitytrains, local commuterstrains, Highspeedtrains (to Paris (TGV) and Frankfurt (ICE)), International trains (to Brussel (NS/B) and Berlin (DB))

The major passenger trainstation is directly underneath the passenger terminal complex and Schiphol Plaza Shoppingmall. Schiphol has intercity connections to all of the parts of The Netherlands.

The problem is traveling with the heavy luggage as there is no special racks for flightpasengers. Because the trains are mainly used bij commuters, that are traveling between Amsterdam->Schiphol<-Rotterdam/The Hague. The track is one of the buisiest and crowded in The Netherlands. The other problem is luggage thieves between Schiphol and Amsterdam CS. Between schiphol and Amsterdam CS, there a two other stations. The stations are located in a getto-area of west Amsterdam.

Last edited by Club_Dru; June 26th, 2008 at 11:28 PM.
Club_Dru no está en línea   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Related topics on SkyscraperCity


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us | privacy policy | DMCA policy

Hosted by Blacksun, dedicated to this site too!
Forum server management by DaiTengu