daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > Fun Forums > Creative Corner > The Drawing Board > Stadium Design



Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.


Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old December 18th, 2012, 06:23 PM   #6361
Leedsrule
Registered User
 
Leedsrule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Woking
Posts: 2,344
Likes (Received): 495

Then I photoshop them a little, I basicly merge an image with lines with one without lines. It looks better than a standard export. Butb yes, like Mattic said, thats how I screenshot.
Leedsrule no está en línea   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
 
Old December 18th, 2012, 06:53 PM   #6362
AJKwak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 483
Likes (Received): 76

What you think about restaurant like this?

Capacity is now something like 17500, not enough for Red Wings in my opinion.


Last edited by AJKwak; December 18th, 2012 at 06:59 PM.
AJKwak no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2012, 07:13 PM   #6363
ArrHo
Registered User
 
ArrHo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bristol
Posts: 707
Likes (Received): 10

AJKwak, a resteraunt thats an awesome idea i think this is awesome the detail is sublime
__________________
London is my Head, while Bristol is my Heart.
ArrHo no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2012, 08:42 PM   #6364
danielbeier
No Soy Un Bandolero
 
danielbeier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Porto Alegre
Posts: 1,565
Likes (Received): 495

I used 2D seats :P.



__________________
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
danielbeier no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2012, 09:16 PM   #6365
Liverpudlian82
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 412
Likes (Received): 110

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leedsrule View Post
Then I photoshop them a little, I basicly merge an image with lines with one without lines. It looks better than a standard export. Butb yes, like Mattic said, thats how I screenshot.
Why don't you use proper rendering software like Kerkythea?
Liverpudlian82 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2012, 09:39 PM   #6366
AJKwak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 483
Likes (Received): 76

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielbeier View Post
I used 2D seats :P.



Nice design, but the topmost tier looks pretty steep...
AJKwak no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2012, 10:52 PM   #6367
Leedsrule
Registered User
 
Leedsrule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Woking
Posts: 2,344
Likes (Received): 495

Quote:
Originally Posted by Liverpudlian82 View Post
Why don't you use proper rendering software like Kerkythea?
Its too slow. Im sure there is a quicker way of doing it but when i export the entire file with 50 thousand individual seats it takes forever to load in kerkythea.

I used to use VRay, that was rubbish, I could never end up with results like most people get, and I like podium but you have to worry about the podium textures and materials and stuff whilst you are building the model. And it is much slower to render and my computer struggles sometimes so I cant do something in the meantime.

If I knew how to render and create really good results then I would but I cant :/
Leedsrule no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2012, 11:23 PM   #6368
kaz03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 210
Likes (Received): 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikola10 View Post
One Question!

Wow SO BIG!
It's really not that big i wanted to make a design with most of the capacity in its steep lower bowl it was supposed have 15,000 with a small upper tier of around 5,000 but now it is att 17,200 so i dont know how to make a second tier that only holds around 2,000 people and doesnt look disproportionate.
kaz03 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2012, 12:32 AM   #6369
stresss
Registered User
 
stresss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Likes (Received): 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leedsrule View Post
Its too slow. Im sure there is a quicker way of doing it but when i export the entire file with 50 thousand individual seats it takes forever to load in kerkythea.

I used to use VRay, that was rubbish, I could never end up with results like most people get, and I like podium but you have to worry about the podium textures and materials and stuff whilst you are building the model. And it is much slower to render and my computer struggles sometimes so I cant do something in the meantime.

If I knew how to render and create really good results then I would but I cant :/
there are some great tutorials on youtube that show how to do brilliant 'renders' with a fairly basic render out of skp/vray/kerky then doing most of the work in photoshop
stresss no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2012, 05:35 AM   #6370
danielbeier
No Soy Un Bandolero
 
danielbeier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Porto Alegre
Posts: 1,565
Likes (Received): 495

Stadium Ind:









I didn't have any good idea for the facade...



(Bad) Render:

__________________
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
danielbeier no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2012, 01:03 PM   #6371
Nikola10
Registered User
 
Nikola10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Middle Of Nowhere!
Posts: 1,890
Likes (Received): 52

how is that render bad i really like the stadium
Nikola10 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2012, 03:40 PM   #6372
Whalix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 89
Likes (Received): 22

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielbeier View Post
Stadium Ind:









I didn't have any good idea for the facade...



(Bad) Render:


Haha just realised I've been using seats I got from your older stadium on the Warehouse (the one called (huge stadium it's called or something along those lines... They're fantastic though for someone who doesn't have a PC that can handle individual seats at all haha
Whalix no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2012, 05:11 PM   #6373
Whalix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 89
Likes (Received): 22

I'm off on Christmas holidays now so hopefully will be getting a a few grounds done and dusted and posted on here. Only problem is I cannot for the life of me think of any facades for any of the grounds. I'm doing a League 1/2 ground at the moment and all the facades are either brick or plain cladding..? Any suggestions?
Whalix no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2012, 08:19 PM   #6374
AJKwak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 483
Likes (Received): 76

Damn. My Detroit arena file get corrupted or something and it doesn't open anymore. I'm waiting for new inspiration.
AJKwak no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2012, 12:03 AM   #6375
Leedsrule
Registered User
 
Leedsrule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Woking
Posts: 2,344
Likes (Received): 495

Shame that, it was looking good. You sure there is no way you can recover it to a previous version?

My new stadium is for Real Betis, in a similar style to the Emirates (With a wavy upper tier). The bottom tier was supposed to be large but I accidently made it too large, it currently holds 49,124 which is big enough already! I was thinking maybe of adapting it to fit another team who need a bigger stadium, but Im not sure who? I will probably just keep it as Betis and try to keep the lower tier down to under 30k.

The stand is accessed from the top of the stand and also from he bottom, you can see the gaps in the second picture, there will be staircases there leading down into the moat which will have facilities in it.



Leedsrule no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2012, 12:59 AM   #6376
danielbeier
No Soy Un Bandolero
 
danielbeier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Porto Alegre
Posts: 1,565
Likes (Received): 495



What's that space under the stand supposed to be? The parking lot?
__________________
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
danielbeier no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2012, 02:13 AM   #6377
stresss
Registered User
 
stresss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Likes (Received): 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielbeier View Post


What's that space under the stand supposed to be? The parking lot?
haha drive in football!!
stresss no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2012, 04:25 AM   #6378
Whalix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 89
Likes (Received): 22

Leedsrule what programme do you use for creating stadiums? I use Sketchup and my laptop almost blows up if I go anywhere over a few thousand individual seats leaving me with no choice but to use the same textures as Danielbeier.. Or maybe you just have an amazing computer that can handle all that detail?



Anyway I've done what I usually do and start a new project even though I have plenty of others which are not finished at all... It's the first I have tried that has all the steelwork in first, so I am not sure whether it is even possible to have the structure as it is, as I have no clue about force and supports etc.. What do you guys think? Would it be actually possible for such steelwork to stand?



Whalix no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2012, 04:28 AM   #6379
Whalix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 89
Likes (Received): 22

By the way there is a support for the second tier (where it over hangs the first) but I forgot to put it in.. you can see the outline of it in the very bottom right of the second picture.. Also I do understand that this is an outrageously large strucure, I just wanted to see what my judgement of force and supports is like from other people's view?
Whalix no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2012, 04:59 AM   #6380
Nikola10
Registered User
 
Nikola10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Middle Of Nowhere!
Posts: 1,890
Likes (Received): 52

leedsrule help meeeee!

i want to make a stadium with many seats and when i go over 5,000 the computer just get a little slower but my highest ever seats was 49,000 and it complete dead

what computer do you use?

another question

which computer can handle alot of stuff on sketchup like way more seats
Nikola10 no está en línea   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like v3.2.5 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us | privacy policy | DMCA policy

Hosted by Blacksun, dedicated to this site too!
Forum server management by DaiTengu