daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy (aug.2, 2013) | DMCA policy | flipboard magazine

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > Asian Forums > Thai Forum > Urban Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old August 3rd, 2013, 06:21 PM   #21
fridaynightlights
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,892
Likes (Received): 153

It's reserved for Thai passport holders only though. Not that I'm expecting more (as it's almost the same in all other countries) but it's kinda sad.

Despite that I am queuing up in the Thai passport lanes as I hold a permanent residency book :p
fridaynightlights no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2013, 08:39 AM   #22
IraGlacialis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Missouri/Bangkok
Posts: 469
Likes (Received): 40

Quote:
Originally Posted by thainotts View Post
The automated gates are awesome (and to answer IraGlacialis, they seem secure as the double-gated machines would also record biometric data).
Looking it over, I can see how it works now.

Though I'd wonder how they'd do things if they actually enforce customs and you'd be required to fill out that little declaration form.
IraGlacialis no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2013, 12:51 PM   #23
fridaynightlights
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,892
Likes (Received): 153

Quote:
Originally Posted by IraGlacialis View Post
Looking it over, I can see how it works now.

Though I'd wonder how they'd do things if they actually enforce customs and you'd be required to fill out that little declaration form.
They require you to fill the immigration form still even if you are going to use the automated gates (WTF I know).

As for customs, it's a completely separate unit and check point.
fridaynightlights no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2013, 03:27 PM   #24
IraGlacialis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Missouri/Bangkok
Posts: 469
Likes (Received): 40

Quote:
Originally Posted by fridaynightlights View Post
They require you to fill the immigration form still even if you are going to use the automated gates (WTF I know).
I don't see why a citizen should have to fill out the arrival/departure form.
But If you aren't a citizen, I can see why; so that you still have a departure card on hand just in case.
Quote:
As for customs, it's a completely separate unit and check point.
... That's not even manned.*

* At least every time I've gone through.
IraGlacialis no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2013, 03:25 PM   #25
fridaynightlights
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,892
Likes (Received): 153

Quote:
Originally Posted by IraGlacialis View Post
I don't see why a citizen should have to fill out the arrival/departure form.
But If you aren't a citizen, I can see why; so that you still have a departure card on hand just in case.

... That's not even manned.*

* At least every time I've gone through.
I know. Never once when I come back to the EU/EEA area and I have to complete an immigration form! One of my best mates (a Thai) showed me the form and literally it doesn't really ask you anything relevant (except the flight number). Everything else is pretty much in the government registrar anyway.

Customs never check me either. They keep thinking I'm a tourist that wouldn't bring anything but clothes and condoms.
fridaynightlights no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2013, 06:03 AM   #26
seldomseen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 883
Likes (Received): 119

When I arrived in BKK last week, I managed to clear the "foreign passport holder" line within 10 minutes! lol Then again, when I deplaned I dashed to immigration just so that I didn't have to hit the long lines.
seldomseen no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2013, 07:03 PM   #27
melrocks50
See you on a dark night
 
melrocks50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 2,441
Likes (Received): 1503

I just arrived back in BKK today at around 8pm and there were pretty long lines for foreign passport holders though most lines were open. The Thai passport holder line was very short and efficient. Only around 10 people in each line with only a 2 or 3 minute wait to get to the front of the queue.
melrocks50 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2013, 08:22 PM   #28
fridaynightlights
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,892
Likes (Received): 153

At the very least I heard (from here?) that they started using the maze queue instead of "try your luck" queue.
fridaynightlights no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2013, 07:35 PM   #29
melrocks50
See you on a dark night
 
melrocks50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 2,441
Likes (Received): 1503

Quote:
Originally Posted by fridaynightlights View Post
At the very least I heard (from here?) that they started using the maze queue instead of "try your luck" queue.
Yeah, I believe they did. It kinda gave the illusion that there was many people. There was also an ASEAN queue for people from ASEAN countries. Same as in Terminal 3 of Singapore Changi.
melrocks50 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:38 AM. • styleid: 14


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us | privacy policy | DMCA policy

tech management by Sysprosium