daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > European Forums > UK & Ireland Architecture Forums > Projects and Construction > Manchester Metro Area

Manchester Metro Area For Manchester, Salford and the surrounding area.



Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.


Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old January 6th, 2009, 05:33 PM   #21
andysimo123
wind-up merchant
 
andysimo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 15,960
Likes (Received): 82

Am pretty sure alot of those buildings are just photos through which have been modified and remodeled. That way you don't have to build each building from hand.
andysimo123 no está en línea   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old January 6th, 2009, 08:52 PM   #22
bobalania
T-T-TEESSIDERS!
 
bobalania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Stockton-on-Tees
Posts: 1,453
Likes (Received): 4

I have started to model buildings in Teesside, mainly Middlesbrough, i keep swapping from building to building though, nearly completed most of them, but not very experienced so i am only doing simple buildings at the moment.
bobalania no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2009, 10:23 PM   #23
Mez
Registered User
 
Mez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,717
Likes (Received): 433

Good man
Mez no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2009, 11:47 PM   #24
SteKnight
What was the question?
 
SteKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 811
Likes (Received): 732

If nothing else, Manchester Town Hall and Central Library need some representation. I might see what this 'Sketch Up' is that I've heard all the kids talking about.
SteKnight no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2009, 06:05 PM   #25
bobalania
T-T-TEESSIDERS!
 
bobalania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Stockton-on-Tees
Posts: 1,453
Likes (Received): 4

If i get more experienced using Sketchup and have modeled a considerable amount in Teesside I'd be more than willing to help model else where......
bobalania no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2009, 09:07 PM   #26
heatonparkincakes
Poet to the parkin cake
 
heatonparkincakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The llama hut
Posts: 6,783
Likes (Received): 1514

Eh in my day................

Feel like I have just been exhumed from the dark ages, but what, why, where and how is all of this????
heatonparkincakes no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 05:03 AM   #27
GanEden
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 687
Likes (Received): 8

Where/how can one see these 3d images on Google earth?
GanEden no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 01:29 PM   #28
The Longford
Cowboy of Love
 
The Longford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: M20
Posts: 8,093
Likes (Received): 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by heatonparkincakes View Post
Feel like I have just been exhumed from the dark ages, but what, why, where and how is all of this????
Its witchcraft. Dont get involved.
__________________
And how is that working out for you?
The Longford no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 02:39 PM   #29
High-Fi
On Pissamoat Hill
 
High-Fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Behind the lens
Posts: 1,147
Likes (Received): 279

I'm up for producing some stuff. My career is based in 3D modelling so this "should" be fairly straight forward. Do we need some kind of list drawing up of what's to be done and who's offered to cover it? I'm thinking that we don't all want to be having a go at the same building.
High-Fi no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 06:07 PM   #30
Mez
Registered User
 
Mez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,717
Likes (Received): 433

Bottom left corner toolbox GanEden.

Tick the 3D buildings box. They should appear then.
Mez no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 07:26 PM   #31
The Longford
Cowboy of Love
 
The Longford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: M20
Posts: 8,093
Likes (Received): 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by High-Fi View Post
My career is based in 3D modelling so this "should" be fairly straight forward.
I dont think this counts our kid
Hi-fi seen today
__________________
And how is that working out for you?
The Longford no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 09:01 PM   #32
SteKnight
What was the question?
 
SteKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 811
Likes (Received): 732

Lego is cool. I've been rediscovering the joys since my daughter got some for Christmas.
SteKnight no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 11:42 PM   #33
High-Fi
On Pissamoat Hill
 
High-Fi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Behind the lens
Posts: 1,147
Likes (Received): 279

Very good Legoford. You're not far off there.

Anyway, I had a twenty minute play (with Sketch up, not Lego)* at lunchtime today and it all looks straightforward enough. I'm struggling to find the function that allows you to wrap or paste images onto the surfaces. This might be part of the Pro version though and I can't afford to pay for that.

Another hurdle to overcome would be getting hold of exact dimensions, or do we not worry about that too much so long as the base fits the GE plan view and the overall height is correct?

I'm here if you need me.

Last edited by High-Fi; January 8th, 2009 at 11:43 PM. Reason: * To clarify matters.
High-Fi no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2009, 12:14 AM   #34
Gherkin
actual gherkin
 
Gherkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London
Posts: 13,796
Likes (Received): 515

Quote:
Originally Posted by High-Fi View Post
Anyway, I had a twenty minute play (with Sketch up, not Lego)* at lunchtime today and it all looks straightforward enough. I'm struggling to find the function that allows you to wrap or paste images onto the surfaces. This might be part of the Pro version though and I can't afford to pay for that.

Another hurdle to overcome would be getting hold of exact dimensions, or do we not worry about that too much so long as the base fits the GE plan view and the overall height is correct?
It's File then Import, but I presume you've got to select the face you want to import it onto, or just rotate/move it onto the correct pane once you've imported the Jpeg into sketchup...

I'm learning how to use Sketchup at uni but have only just got started on it really. I'll post back here when I've got to grips with it! Early efforts

Last edited by Gherkin; January 9th, 2009 at 06:21 AM.
Gherkin no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2010, 12:44 PM   #35
GanEden
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 687
Likes (Received): 8

Manchester @ Google Earth

Can I ask something please?

Why is the 3D rendition of Manchester so sparse when say in comparison with Leeds or even Melbourne?

Those with the 3D buildings software and ability will know what I mean. I'm no expert on this 3D render talent but it would be nice if those of you who are clever can do some more? Be wonderful to see Manchester as detailed as Melbourne. I understand it must take a long time but surely the Aussie's can't all be unemployed? LOL

Please just have a look at Melbourne and you'll get what I mean. Even houses, factories and blocks of flats are 3D on theirs. Pics below for comparison.







GanEden no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2010, 05:38 PM   #36
GanEden
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 687
Likes (Received): 8

114 views, no responses, my goodness they are keen.
GanEden no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2010, 05:44 PM   #37
Frodz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 886
Likes (Received): 0

Perhaps Mancunians have better things to do with their time......
Frodz no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2010, 06:50 PM   #38
WatcherZero
Registered User
 
WatcherZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 19,590

Theirs someone who does odd Wigan landmarks, but I think their just isnt anyone who wants to model their local buildings here.
WatcherZero no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2010, 07:09 PM   #39
bobalania
T-T-TEESSIDERS!
 
bobalania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Stockton-on-Tees
Posts: 1,453
Likes (Received): 4

An architectural firm built a low of central Middlesbrough in 3D, although i don't think they appear on Google Earth automatically, think you have to download the files which is a faf!
bobalania no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2010, 08:00 PM   #40
SimonTheSoundMan
ENTJ 8w9
 
SimonTheSoundMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 8,980
Likes (Received): 1882

Google have been making their own 3D buildings. Manchester are community made 3D buildings. They are only starting on the important and larger cities. Hence why Birmingham and London have been made in 3D by Google.
SimonTheSoundMan no está en línea   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Related topics on SkyscraperCity


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us | privacy policy | DMCA policy

tech management by Sysprosium