daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > Infrastructure and Mobility Forums > Railways

Railways (Inter)national commuter and freight trains

Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.

Old December 5th, 2009, 05:48 PM   #1
zo1D

Likes (Received): 0

MISC | Difference between USA and EUROPE railnetwork?

Hi everyone,

I'm a civil engineering student from Belgium. For a project me and a colleague need to make a big "paper" about the difference between the rail network in Europe and the USA (why is there so much more freight transport via rail in the USA?)

Now we have allready found some obvious reasons:

- location: Europe is surrounded by sea, the land area in the USA is much bigger. So one would expect more transport over water in Europe.

- terrain: Europe has more mountains, USA has more wide open spaces = easyer for railtransport. USA = bigger distance => more efficient for rail

- infrastructure: they use different kinds of railways, different stations, off loading methods?

- function of the railnetwork: in Europe, passenger transport and freight transport occurs on the same lines. There are high frequencies for passenger train transport, ...?

- types of trains: mostly Diesel in USA vs mostly electric in Europe, double stacks in USA, better system to attach wagons to eachother (= longer trains)? ...

- Politics: Europe = lot's of countries with different types of infrastructure, different rules = makes international transport slower. Taxes in europe on train freight transport are different? Infrastructure is public or private.

Now my question is: what are your opinions about this topic? Are there more reasons why rail freight transport in the USA is more efficient? Are some of my reasons wrong?

Thank you in advance