daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > Infrastructure and Mobility Forums > Railways

Railways (Inter)national commuter and freight trains



Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.


Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old February 21st, 2010, 04:51 PM   #1
poshbakerloo
***Alexxx***
 
poshbakerloo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, Manchester, Cheshire, Sheffield, Moscow
Posts: 5,091
Likes (Received): 289

MISC | Stations You Use | Photo Thread

Post a photo of the train station you use the most (commuting, normal travelling etc)

When going to work in Manchester, I always take the train from Macclesfield...



Change trains here (from platform 14)...



...Then get off here at Oxford Road...then have my morning struggle with the ticket gates urgh!

__________________
"BEFORE WE MARRY...I HAVE A SECRET!"

I <3 London
poshbakerloo no está en línea   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old February 22nd, 2010, 04:32 PM   #2
yaohua2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 453
Likes (Received): 7

The train station I use the most (2005–2009)

Tianjin: used 527 times (Photo: 2010-01-02 16:25:19 GMT+08:00)


Beijing: used 421 times (Photo: 2009-08-29 03:59:04 GMT+08:00)


Beijing South: used 185 times (Photo: 2009-06-27 06:21:21 GMT+08:00)


Tianjin North: used 60 times (Photo: 2010-02-05 14:47:29 GMT+08:00)


Tianjin West: used 43 times (Photo: 2009-05-01 02:56:35 GMT+08:00)
yaohua2000 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2010, 08:53 PM   #3
SeyMan
The Inhospitable Sea
 
SeyMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Zug
Posts: 267
Likes (Received): 59

yaohua: how on Earth do you know with such precision how many times you used each of these stations?
SeyMan no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2010, 10:13 PM   #4
yaohua2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 453
Likes (Received): 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeyMan View Post
yaohua: how on Earth do you know with such precision how many times you used each of these stations?
Because I record every of them.

2005–2008: http://bbs.hasea.com/thread-300931-1-1.html
2009: http://bbs.hasea.com/thread-429737-1-1.html

Last edited by yaohua2000; February 23rd, 2010 at 05:32 AM.
yaohua2000 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2010, 01:52 PM   #5
panitiakurban
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 1,240
Likes (Received): 334

When going to work in the downtown of Jakarta, I take the train from Tangerang (Commuter) Station.....





to Sudirman Station....





I usually take the intercity train from Jakarta Gambir Station





to Bandung...





panitiakurban no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 02:15 AM   #6
SeyMan
The Inhospitable Sea
 
SeyMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Zug
Posts: 267
Likes (Received): 59

It's interesting that both Indonesian and Romanian languages use the same word for platform: 'peron' (coming from the French 'perron' which does not even have this meaning).
SeyMan no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 04:43 AM   #7
zivan56
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 471
Likes (Received): 2

Same with Bosnia, Serbia, and Croatia. Probably other former Yugoslavia states as well...
zivan56 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:20 PM   #8
GrimFadango
Registered User
 
GrimFadango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kielce/Lublin
Posts: 808
Likes (Received): 335

In Poland we also use "peron".
__________________
Z perkusistami jest jak z prezerwatywami. Bez - milej, z - bezpieczniej.
GrimFadango no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 02:51 PM   #9
xanterra
Registered User
 
xanterra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cologne
Posts: 2,492
Likes (Received): 2234

Same goes for Turkey
xanterra no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 03:23 PM   #10
Crownsteler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Utrecht
Posts: 851
Likes (Received): 474

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeyMan View Post
It's interesting that both Indonesian and Romanian languages use the same word for platform: 'peron' (coming from the French 'perron' which does not even have this meaning).
I guess it is because the Indonesians adopted the Dutch word perron, just like 'lift' and 'loket' (counter). And I imagine the word 'stasiun' (station?) is also of Dutch origin.

Well anyway, I travel mostly between these stations:

Leiden Lammenschans station (note: the picture is horribly misleading )


Utrecht Centraal station

Though occasionally I travel on to this station:

Leiden Centraal station
Crownsteler no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 03:33 PM   #11
takini
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,349
Likes (Received): 89

Yes it’s “peron” in Serbia. This is where I usually catch my train:





http://maps.google.com/maps?hl=sr&ie...03428&t=h&z=18
takini no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2010, 02:06 AM   #12
Norkey
BANNED
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The Bannered Mare
Posts: 2,580
Likes (Received): 23

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrimFadango View Post
In Poland we also use "peron".
we had "perón" too, but it is not widely used now.

Liberec:
Norkey no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2010, 11:30 AM   #13
city_thing
Put it in your mouth
 
city_thing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melbourne.
Posts: 7,128
Likes (Received): 883

Flinders Street Station. Melbourne, Australia.



Though sometimes I use Parliament...

image hosted on flickr


And other times Southern Cross Station



__________________
Calling occupants of interplanetary craft...
city_thing no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2010, 06:15 AM   #14
Youngplanner
Registered User
 
Youngplanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,747
Likes (Received): 974

Ok start off at Canning Bridge Station, heading to Perth.


[IMG]http://i46.************/1zcmgrp.jpg[/IMG]

Perth Station.


[IMG]http://i45.************/rbaa1f.jpg[/IMG]

And when I head home for a weekend or something then it's from Perth to Bunbury Station, which is the terminal for the 'Australind' train.

[IMG]http://i46.************/2uh7tat.jpg[/IMG]
Youngplanner está en línea ahora   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2010, 07:28 AM   #15
Dimethyltryptamine
Registered User
 
Dimethyltryptamine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,888
Likes (Received): 6456

The I use most is probably Brisbane Central

image hosted on flickr

http://www.flickr.com/photos/shoesmi...57035/sizes/l/
image hosted on flickr

http://www.flickr.com/photos/markus-...71088/sizes/o/
Dimethyltryptamine no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2010, 08:13 AM   #16
Yardmaster
Registered Melbourne
 
Yardmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,152
Likes (Received): 198

My local station at Footscray in suburban Melbourne, Australia: a four-platform affair.
It also has two lower tracks which carry the freight in & out of Melbourne (visible in the right rear distance).
They're drilling at the moment in anticipation of putting in a couple of extra passsenger tracks underground.



The new footbridge: due to open next week:



Most likely destinations: Geelong:






Or Southern Cross (alluded to above):
(sorry, haven't correctly downsized this photo, so it extends to the right)






My Dad's place:



Or maybe Flinders Street:


Last edited by Yardmaster; February 26th, 2010 at 08:16 PM.
Yardmaster no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2010, 06:28 PM   #17
Baron Hirsch
Kara Tren Solcusu
 
Baron Hirsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin/Istanbul
Posts: 1,337
Likes (Received): 475

hs
Baron Hirsch no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2010, 08:32 PM   #18
MarcVD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brussels
Posts: 1,069
Likes (Received): 192

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yardmaster View Post
Why so much space between the two tracks ? Is it custom over there,
or was there before a third track for shunting, like they do in the
Netherlands, and removed afterwards ?

Thanks,
MarcVD no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2010, 10:29 AM   #19
Yardmaster
Registered Melbourne
 
Yardmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,152
Likes (Received): 198

there was a third track there, but as in many other locations, it was removed during rationization.

There may be justification for this: there's a third platform here, and a run-around track behind that. Also, with less dependency on loco-hauled trains, there is much less need to run locos round to the opposite end of the train.

Never-the-less, one can't help feeling that sometimes an extra would be useful if something goes wrong ...
Yardmaster no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 02:33 AM   #20
signol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Norwich
Posts: 153
Likes (Received): 19

My nearest station is Norwich:

These trains usually run on the middle-distance routes, eg. to Cambridge:

And these trains run on the mainline to London:


signol
signol no está en línea   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Related topics on SkyscraperCity


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us | privacy policy | DMCA policy

tech management by Sysprosium