daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > World Development News Forums > General Urban Developments > DN Archives



Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.


Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old January 29th, 2014, 10:32 PM   #3241
uakoops
Sidewalk Superintendent
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 648
Likes (Received): 396

One of the presets on there is a view further to the left that captures all of Tower 3. That view was never available on the website, and will be great when they start moving again there.
__________________

A.J.B 22 liked this post
uakoops no está en línea   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old January 30th, 2014, 02:48 AM   #3242
Chibears85
MEOW!
 
Chibears85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 728
Likes (Received): 669

I am currently attempting to get the URL off the app
__________________
CLICK HERE TO SEE MY NEW YORK CITY PHOTO THREAD TO REQUEST PICTURES OR SEE AMAZING PICTURES!
Favorite Tower: One World Trade Center...

oli83, АмУх liked this post
Chibears85 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2014, 08:34 PM   #3243
PubliusC
Registered User
 
PubliusC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Gotham City
Posts: 92
Likes (Received): 75

Quote:
Originally Posted by pnapp1 View Post
Today. Another delivery.


Image via Control Center App. for iPad

How do you get the images out of the app? I see no option to either save or send the picture. Screenshot is much lower res than the pics you are posting. Thanks.
PubliusC no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2014, 08:38 PM   #3244
steve1young
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 125
Likes (Received): 18

Quote:
Originally Posted by PubliusC View Post
How do you get the images out of the app? I see no option to either save or send the picture. Screenshot is much lower res than the pics you are posting. Thanks.
If I'm at work, I can use a program called a Snipping Tool to capture/crop the image in near-equal resolution.
steve1young no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2014, 10:37 PM   #3245
pnapp1
Die-Hard New Yorker!
 
pnapp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: LI, New York
Posts: 302
Likes (Received): 353

More Transition Segments going in today on both sides.


Image via Control Center App. for iPad


Image via Control Center App. for iPad
__________________

Swiddle, A.J.B 22, ChuckInTN, Eyk88 liked this post

Last edited by pnapp1; January 30th, 2014 at 10:48 PM.
pnapp1 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2014, 10:43 PM   #3246
Deepspace9
Registered User
 
Deepspace9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: ottawa/greely
Posts: 75
Likes (Received): 17

at least we have this app now but i prefer to look on computer it would be much better there has to be a link someware to the images
Deepspace9 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2014, 10:46 PM   #3247
pnapp1
Die-Hard New Yorker!
 
pnapp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: LI, New York
Posts: 302
Likes (Received): 353

Quote:
Originally Posted by PubliusC View Post
How do you get the images out of the app? I see no option to either save or send the picture. Screenshot is much lower res than the pics you are posting. Thanks.
I'm just taking a screen shot and emailing them to myself. Then cropping and resizing them in Photoshop. These images I'm posting are about half the size of the actual photos.

Here is the actual size of the images I'm getting from taking screen shots from the app.


Image via Control Center App. for iPad
__________________

Swiddle liked this post
pnapp1 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2014, 12:18 AM   #3248
A.J.B 22
Big Pink
 
A.J.B 22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 442
Likes (Received): 481

Isn't this great? Now we can closely monitor the progress again.
__________________

PubliusC, ChuckInTN, msl1 liked this post
A.J.B 22 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2014, 04:19 AM   #3249
wizsand
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 235
Likes (Received): 445

The app is a truly awesome find! I have a question. As the gap between both ends gets smaller, say only a few segments apart, won't the cranes get in each other's way? Will one be dismantled and how will this happen without hitting any of the segments and causing a domino effect? Cheers.
wizsand no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2014, 11:02 AM   #3250
oli83
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Munich
Posts: 1,684
Likes (Received): 1000

Quote:
Originally Posted by wizsand View Post
As the gap between both ends gets smaller, say only a few segments apart, won't the cranes get in each other's way?
I don't see a problem here. If they want to avoid that the crane's get in each other way, there is no need to erect two pieces at the same time when it comes to the end. They can erect one after the other. Since the lifting and placement process doesn't consume that much time, this should be alright.
oli83 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2014, 05:06 PM   #3251
tim1807
faster than buildings
 
tim1807's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Den Helder
Posts: 10,325
Likes (Received): 5334

And a domino effect is the last thing that will happen. They are not freestanding.
tim1807 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2014, 09:48 PM   #3252
wizsand
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 235
Likes (Received): 445

True but the only thing linking the pieces together is the skylight, right? There are no cross-braces between them and I doubt the bolts/welds would prevent a smallish domino effect if, say, the crane base were to swing against them in windy weather or if the cable lifting it broke. Seen that happen three times already this winter.
wizsand no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2014, 10:49 PM   #3253
wtcforever
higher than 1wtc
 
wtcforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: St.petersburg,Florida
Posts: 768
Likes (Received): 684

Quote:
Originally Posted by wizsand View Post
True but the only thing linking the pieces together is the skylight, right? There are no cross-braces between them and I doubt the bolts/welds would prevent a smallish domino effect if, say, the crane base were to swing against them in windy weather or if the cable lifting it broke. Seen that happen three times already this winter.
that would not happen, I heard that the wtc transit hub is designed to stay up even if another building fell on it
__________________
wtcforever liked this post
wtcforever no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2014, 11:23 PM   #3254
weidncol
WTC Enthusiast/Researcher
 
weidncol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 2,098
Likes (Received): 4623

I highly doubt it would survive that, it would just crush it. Especially if it would be Tower 2 or 3...
__________________
#Save2WTC
weidncol no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2014, 01:25 AM   #3255
PMadFlyer
Registered User
 
PMadFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 453
Likes (Received): 371

It could take it, I don't think you guys are considering the NYPD redesign. For comparison, see the VSC, or 1WTC podium. Otie previously mentioned that the thickness of the "glass" is excessive to say the least.
__________________

wtcforever liked this post
PMadFlyer no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2014, 02:58 AM   #3256
wizsand
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 235
Likes (Received): 445

I'm not discussing the safety of the structure as a whole but the removal of the cranes. They are framed-in pretty tight so I'm asking how they'll be removed. Simply lifted straight up and out?
wizsand no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2014, 06:39 AM   #3257
Steve92691
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 21
Likes (Received): 25

Based on previous accounts, I would assume that a temporary crane would be erected somewhere alongside the structure which will allow the dismantling of the crane. This is the reverse of how the cranes were erected in the first place.
Steve92691 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2014, 08:29 PM   #3258
wtcforever
higher than 1wtc
 
wtcforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: St.petersburg,Florida
Posts: 768
Likes (Received): 684

post more screenshots please, im trying to make a time lapse of the transit hubs construction
__________________
wtcforever liked this post
wtcforever no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2014, 10:03 PM   #3259
Beber
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 617
Likes (Received): 1493

I managed to free some time to take a look at the application found by tyj90 (thanks a lot). It was not trivial since I don't have any Android/iOS device, but that doesn't stop me.

I'll spare you the details, but the gigapixel cam doesn't have a fixed url, because all images are stored on the server, which means there is a new url for every new image (wich means all past pics are still stored...).

The url for the Hub cam is the following

Code:
http://earthcam.net/archives/8e6764a30395af546874a66c54f2bd55/YYYY/MM/DD/HHMM.jpg
with YYYY being the year (2014), MM the month (02), and you see where I'm going with that. So that means that the following URL is valid for today (Feb 1st, 2014) at 14h16:

Code:
http://earthcam.net/archives/8e6764a30395af546874a66c54f2bd55/2014/02/01/1416.jpg
(click me)

Of course, there is not a picture for every single minute, and I'm pretty sure no one wants to try every single combination to find the correct URL (for example, if you replace 1416.jpg by 1415.jpg, it won't work; but 1346 will).

That's why there's this page, which has all the valid pics for the day. It's mostly gibberish, and understanding it will be you assignement. But if you look closely, you'll find all the pics of the day.

And if you completed your assignement, you can change the value of the "archiveid" parameter in the previous link, and find the links to all the other webcams.

Once again, thanks tyj90 for the find.
__________________
Beber no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2014, 10:24 PM   #3260
weidncol
WTC Enthusiast/Researcher
 
weidncol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 2,098
Likes (Received): 4623

Thanks alot, man. Do you have the archive links for the other cams though?
__________________
#Save2WTC
weidncol no está en línea   Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
port authority, santiago calatrava, world trade center, wtc

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Related topics on SkyscraperCity


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us | privacy policy | DMCA policy

Hosted by Blacksun, dedicated to this site too!
Forum server management by DaiTengu