daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > World Development News Forums > General Urban Developments > DN Archives



Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.


Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old June 5th, 2012, 08:33 PM   #1021
Beber
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 617
Likes (Received): 1493

At this point I'm not sure whether I should post here or on the 3WTC thread, but anyway.

If you take a closer look at the base of the east TC (ex TG 1900), you can see that it's wider than usual, meaning it was built to receive something larger than the TG 1900, something like a M1280D.



But that's an awfully bad spot for a crane to work on the hub, and whoever's in charge had to bet on 3WTC to get on hold in order to put a crane there to work on the hub... doesn't seem very realistic to me.

On the other hand, we have confirmed reports that 3WTC will be on hold after the next level is poured, and we also have reports telling us that 2 M1280Ds are coming to work on the hub.

So right now, I'm really confused about what's going on around here. They might need a crane to do some steel work for 3WTC, but it seem overkill to bring a M1280D just to do that.
Beber no está en línea   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old June 5th, 2012, 10:21 PM   #1022
325ccr
Registered User
 
325ccr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Staten Island
Posts: 359
Likes (Received): 82

The webcam shows them installing the first piece of the mast:



Only reason I can guess why it's there is so it can install the large wings of the hub, it can't install them when it's right in the center of the hub... Even so he can't swing to the east without hitting T3, so I'm still confused myself but only time will tell. Could it be they will build it taller then T3 and make him swing over it while the building is on hold?
325ccr no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2012, 12:07 AM   #1023
Tim98
Fanatic
 
Tim98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sweetlake City
Posts: 152
Likes (Received): 16

Great shot! Thanks for the effort and attention!
Tim98 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2012, 04:34 AM   #1024
thejacko5
SSC Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 932
Likes (Received): 401

Quote:
Originally Posted by 325ccr View Post
I'm starting to think T3 my self, if so that will be very impressive to see it lift at such a large radius. The mobile is a brand new LTM 1350-6.1, I posted a few pics awhile back when it was in there yard

They were on Harris trailers but I didn't recognize the tractors, they weren't the normal's that always haul stuff there, the yellow truck I thought was my friend but turns out it wasn't, to bad because I would of gotten alot of info. I will contact another person at Harris that I know to see if I can get any info.
From the pics posted, I guess that crane is definitely setting up in the T3 footprint. Thats a long pick if it is going to be used for the Hub steel. Wow.

Unfortunately, I don't really talk with competing erectors regularly. The info I got was from a conversation at a contractors meeting. I dont expect to get anything new from them at this point. I am wrapped up on my other projects right now.

But now I see the lifting basket set up west of the other Hub 760. Perhaps those rails are not for sliding at all, but just for spreading the crane load out. After all, that is a poured floor they are sitting on....even though there seems to be 5000tons of bar in that floor.

As far as the 1350. I heard that Bay went bananas at the crane expo in vegas this year. Id be surprised if the plastic was not still on the operators seat. haha. Naturally, their equipment is always immaculate.

Harris seems to haul for everyone with LJK gone (they were awesome).........currently hauling the iron for my project at the DOS Garage on spring street.....
thejacko5 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2012, 04:34 PM   #1025
oli83
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Munich
Posts: 1,684
Likes (Received): 1000

The eastern crane is about to put the western one on the sliding rail..

I do not think that the tower crane they currently assemble at the T3 site will be used for the construction of the hub. After all, Silverstein is developing T3, while the hub is built by the PA, what would happen if Larry finds a tenant and wants to continue with T3? Maybe the steel beams used for T3 need a bigger tower crane, at least the columns on the south side of T3 look rather huge.
oli83 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2012, 05:54 PM   #1026
600West218
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,734
Likes (Received): 1574

I think I see the western crane at the hub coming out on the KPI cam. Does that sound right? Will the crane in the middle (that they have the base for, be replacing that? Or maybe even replacing both?

This all may be confusing, but at least it isn't boring.
600West218 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2012, 06:12 PM   #1027
325ccr
Registered User
 
325ccr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Staten Island
Posts: 359
Likes (Received): 82

I never thought of them used for spreading the weight, guess its a 2-1, spreading the weight and for crawling, although lately they hardly have moved at all.

I would put money down that it's for the hub, if anything Cornell would use their link belt 2300's in T3 if anything was that big.

Moving that other favco 760 onto rails would explain the reason there were no truck loads parked outside when I passed at 9PM
325ccr no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2012, 06:13 PM   #1028
325ccr
Registered User
 
325ccr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Staten Island
Posts: 359
Likes (Received): 82

And not to go off topic but it seems Bay does more work up in the north eastern states then in the metro area anymore
325ccr no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2012, 09:54 PM   #1029
600West218
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,734
Likes (Received): 1574

I don't think those cranes will move. It looks like they are just set up to disribute the wieght more evenly. To slide would't they need wheels?
600West218 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2012, 10:13 PM   #1030
thejacko5
SSC Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 932
Likes (Received): 401

Quote:
Originally Posted by 325ccr View Post
I never thought of them used for spreading the weight, guess its a 2-1, spreading the weight and for crawling, although lately they hardly have moved at all.

I would put money down that it's for the hub, if anything Cornell would use their link belt 2300's in T3 if anything was that big.

Moving that other favco 760 onto rails would explain the reason there were no truck loads parked outside when I passed at 9PM
Yeah, that mast tower is very big compared to the 760 mast towers.


I think Falcon is erecting T3 (Owen fab), but dont quote me on it.
thejacko5 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2012, 10:14 PM   #1031
thejacko5
SSC Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 932
Likes (Received): 401

Quote:
Originally Posted by 600West218 View Post
I don't think those cranes will move. It looks like they are just set up to disribute the wieght more evenly. To slide would't they need wheels?
nope, just some dish soap and an electric winch.


(you wish I was kidding)
thejacko5 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2012, 10:29 PM   #1032
325ccr
Registered User
 
325ccr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Staten Island
Posts: 359
Likes (Received): 82

The turn table is now on the 1280D, I will take another ride by tonight to see if I catch anything

It's quite funny seeing a bunch of guys with bars of soap while working steel, old methods still used till this day.
325ccr no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2012, 12:00 AM   #1033
Uaarkson
Sheet Metal Sketcher
 
Uaarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: East Side Flint
Posts: 2,528
Likes (Received): 1032

Now that's what I call cost savings.
__________________
Manhattan http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7S1MySJoFl8&hd=1 (HD)
Uaarkson no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2012, 06:33 PM   #1034
325ccr
Registered User
 
325ccr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Staten Island
Posts: 359
Likes (Received): 82

This is odd... There is a Link-Belt TG2300 body next to the mast...
325ccr no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2012, 08:12 PM   #1035
pnapp1
Die-Hard New Yorker!
 
pnapp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: LI, New York
Posts: 302
Likes (Received): 353

From today: WTC Progress Facebook:


http://www.facebook.com/home.php
pnapp1 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2012, 08:27 PM   #1036
thejacko5
SSC Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 932
Likes (Received): 401

Quote:
Originally Posted by 325ccr View Post
This is odd... There is a Link-Belt TG2300 body next to the mast...
Any logo's?
thejacko5 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2012, 09:36 PM   #1037
325ccr
Registered User
 
325ccr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Staten Island
Posts: 359
Likes (Received): 82

From the look of it, Cornell. What I don't get is those mast sections, I never thought that 2300's mast's were that big and it looks like it has a climbing cage on it. Even the counter weight for it is beside it, I guess it ain't the Favco. The Link-Belt is a 230T rig though...
325ccr no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2012, 02:47 AM   #1038
thejacko5
SSC Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 932
Likes (Received): 401

Well I'm stumped.

If it's a Cornell crane, it surely is not being rented by a competitor. That is too easy to rule out.

Furthermore, I find it hard to believe there is anything in T3 that requires that monster.

Time will tell
thejacko5 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2012, 04:54 AM   #1039
325ccr
Registered User
 
325ccr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Staten Island
Posts: 359
Likes (Received): 82

Quote:
Originally Posted by thejacko5 View Post
Well I'm stumped.

If it's a Cornell crane, it surely is not being rented by a competitor. That is too easy to rule out.

Furthermore, I find it hard to believe there is anything in T3 that requires that monster.

Time will tell
Same here, I guess it is for T3 with the climbing cage on it
325ccr no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2012, 03:03 AM   #1040
SidewalkSuper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 69
Likes (Received): 5

Vanishing Rebar?

Where did they put the rebar? Don't they still need some for that patch in the southwest corner?
SidewalkSuper no está en línea   Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
port authority, santiago calatrava, world trade center, wtc

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Related topics on SkyscraperCity


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us | privacy policy | DMCA policy

Hosted by Blacksun, dedicated to this site too!
Forum server management by DaiTengu