daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > World Forums > Architecture

Architecture news and discussions on all buildings types and urban spaces
» Classic Architecture | European Classic Architecture and Landscapes | Public Space | Shopping Architecture | Design & Lifestyle | Urban Renewal and Redevelopment

Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.

Old December 7th, 2010, 09:34 AM   #1
umcame

Likes (Received): 0

A question for any engineers or architects out there. Help?

I'm an undergraduate engineering student who is very interested and enthusiastic about sustainable and environmentally friendly architecture. I initially started a bachelors of environmental design but quickly realized that it was heavily design/arts focused and had little to no science or math. I decided that if I am to one day become an architect I wanted to have a solid foundation of mechanics, math, materials etc. Therefore, I enrolled in the engineering program and am currently completing my first general year. I'm now faced with two options: a bachelors of civil engineering (which covers structures as well as some environmental and transportation) or a bachelors of biosystems/environmental engineering specializing in sustainable building systems. One is more focused on the structural aspects and one is more focused on the sustainabilty aspects although there is some definite overlap. For example, the environmental engineering program offers courses like civ eng materials and structural analysis while the civil engineering program offers options of pollution assesment and water contamination. It just so happens that three of my first year courses are included in the environmental engineering degree so that means I would have a little leg up.