SkyscraperCity Forum banner

TAMPA | Metro 510 | 120 Affordable Apartments | Completed

29K views 93 replies 19 participants last post by  TampaMike 
#1 ·
I think it's necessary to make a seperate thread for this and not flood the Encore thread with a project not related to it.

#2 ·
Sorry I am not good at this, but i guess this project was related to a tampa trib article back in november.

St. Paul African Methodist Episcopal Church in downtown Tampa is undergoing renovation. The building was dedicated in 1914.

By KATHY STEELE | The Tampa Tribune
Published: November 17, 2010
Updated: 11/17/2010 04:41 pm

TAMPA - The gothic majesty of St. Paul African Methodist Episcopal Church is encased in scaffolding while construction crews craft the church's destiny as a community center and keeper of history.

Beside the church building, a six-story apartment building, Metro 510, will welcome its first tenants in October 2011. Nurses, teachers, police officers and restaurant workers will fill 120 "workforce" affordable apartments in the building at 506 E. Harrison St.

Rents based on income will range from $325 for a one-bedroom apartment to $829 for a three-bedroom residence. The church's façade will be preserved, and the interior remodeled for a leasing office, exercise room, community room and other apartment amenities.

"It will be the first workforce housing in the core of downtown Tampa," said Debra Koehler, president of Sage Partners, the project's development company.

But what energizes Koehler and many of the church's former congregation is the preservation of the church's legacy. Its congregation dates to 1870; construction on the Harrison Street church began in 1906 and the church was dedicated in 1914.