daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > World Forums > Stadiums and Sport Arenas

Stadiums and Sport Arenas » Completed | Under Construction | Proposed | Demolished

Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.

Old March 12th, 2011, 06:26 PM   #1
ArnageWRC
Sports fan

Likes (Received): 2

Retro 'New' Grounds

Newbie here, so don't know if it's been discussed. However, on the English stadium thread, i noticed talk about the recent building of 'generic bowls', i;e Reebok, Emirates, etc
As a Liverpool fan, and the discussions about the new ground - and not wanting a soulless bowl, I found them interesting.
I've seen in the US the building of the retro ballparks for the MLB teams. Why hasn't this been thought about for our stadiums here in UK? Imagine a modern take on a 'traditional British football' ground, if there is one. So the use of brick, steel, glass, etc
Same with our cricket grounds - look at the monstrosities at Headingley and Old Trafford, I'm surprised more cricket grounds don't use the MLB retro ball parks as an influence.
ArnageWRC no está en línea   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old March 13th, 2011, 09:21 PM   #2
en1044
Unregistered User

Likes (Received): 113

I think there would be a lot of potential for retro football stadiums in the UK, but trust me: it gets old. I think the "retro" fad in the US is over. Nowadays you see modern looking ballparks being built that are the complete opposite of retro. There's a lot more room for creativity. Retro is safe, but boring.
Old March 14th, 2011, 01:20 AM   #3
3SPIRES

Likes (Received): 124