daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > World Forums > Architecture

Architecture news and discussions on all buildings types and urban spaces
» Classic Architecture | European Classic Architecture and Landscapes | Public Space | Shopping Architecture | Design & Lifestyle | Urban Renewal and Redevelopment

Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.

Old August 16th, 2011, 09:04 AM   #1
Andros_Pelekanos

Likes (Received): 1

Implausible architecture/infrastructure in games

Does it bother anyone else?

Ok I'm not good with techy stuff and thus an image which is in order isn't in this post to help demonstrate my point but...

The point is that the layout of the subway system in GTA4 is completely non-sensical especially when you consider where the stops are. As if the system was put in place purely as a gameplay system rather then for practical and functional reasons.

Other examples include Doom 3, Half Life 2 & Dead Sapce where you're in closed indoor areas and on the roof and on the walls you'll see piping. But following the pipes leads to literally nowehere, they just stop.

Am I the only person who's bothered by the fact that game developers don't hire real architects for games?

With games costing over 40 million to makes these days, surely hiring one legit architect firm wouldn't completely break the bank... or would it?

mrsmartman liked this post
Andros_Pelekanos no está en línea   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old August 16th, 2011, 08:29 PM   #2
Gherkin
actual gherkin

Likes (Received): 515

I'd imagine games developers want to create alien worlds where physics is not the same as on earth, to make levels more engaging and to encourage exploration of these worlds. Stretching our imagination is certainly not a bad thing.