daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > World Forums > Skyscrapers

Skyscrapers General news, discussion and announcement forum about skyscrapers, including the Skyscraper Living forum

Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.

Old August 9th, 2012, 04:46 PM   #1
Suburbanist
on the road

Likes (Received): 21038

Elevators, tall buildings and the floor space paradox

First, a disclosure: I'm not a civil engineer...

Something that leaves me intrigued is the need of high buildings for means of elevation, without whom they couldn't possible work.

I've read some articles and texts explaining the issue, which is also a bit intuitive: the higher you get, the more vertical transportation capacity you need, or else a building can't function properly.

So they come with express elevators, sky-lobbies and the likes. At least that seams to be current practice.

I have some doubts about that:

1) What is the highest floor count a modern (say, built after 1990 in Western(ized) countries) will have before resorting to express lifts or sky-lobbies?

2) On these supertalls, what % of the total floor area is usually taken by elevator shafts?

3) Is there any building with height above 150m with vertical spacing of lift stops? I mean a building in which, for instance, only one out of every 3 floors has access to elevators, so to get to the other floors, people take a lift to an upper floor than go downstairs to their floor if it isn't served by lift.

Sponsored Links
Old August 10th, 2012, 04:54 PM   #2
Highcliff
Fake democracy

Likes (Received): 5011

unfortunatelly, I don't know the answer, but I have a pic that can explain something...
look at and get your own conclusions...
I got it in the internet, but I don't remember the font...