daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > Photo Forums > Urban Showcase

Urban Showcase Show your selfmade photos

Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.

Old January 12th, 2013, 06:59 PM   #1
King of Construction
skyscraperized

Likes (Received): 254

Dubai and Abu Dhabi New Year's trip

Hello, and welcome to my trip report of Dubai!

I have always been a huge fan of Dubai, like you can see in my signature .
When I graduated from highschool my parents promised me a trip to Dubai, but instead we went to the United States and saw many cities like New York, Washington, Boston, Toronto, San Fransisco, Las Vegas and Los Angeles (not bad either ).
Now some years later, my dream of going to Dubai has finally come true.
We also made sure to go around New Year, so we could see the Burj Khalifa fireworks.

On the 30th of December we left in the late evening from Amsterdam's Schiphol airport. Flying at night we could see the sun come up in the morning:

From the plane we had some nice views of the city:

My first view of the Burj Khalifa, the #1 reason to visit Dubai as I am a huge skyscraperfan:

When we landed we had some great views of the Emirates Terminal with alot of Airbus A380's:

We stayed at the York International Hotel a decent hotel but with a reputation. However upon arrival we were upgraded from Standard to Executive rooms for free. It's situated in the Dubai Creek area close to the Gold Souk, and also just 50 meters away from the Al Fahidi metro station:

After having catched up some sleep we missed in the airplane, the view from the balcony looked like this at night, a busy interchange:

It was already the 31st, so we had to go to the BK.