daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > World Forums > Skyscrapers

Skyscrapers General news, discussion and announcement forum about skyscrapers, including the Skyscraper Living forum

Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.

Old January 22nd, 2013, 01:49 AM   #1
Skyscraper-dissertat

Likes (Received): 0

Dissertation about Skyscrapers

(Hopefully I'm posting this in the correct section.)

Hello. I’m an Interior Design student in my final year at university and for my Dissertation I’ve chosen to examine the topic of Skyscrapers, their evolution through time, their function now and the possibilities they present for the future.

Although books, articles and the internet provide great deal of information for me to use, they lack when it comes to people’s opinion. So I’d greatly appreciate it if you could take a few minutes of your time and answer the questions below. Answer can vary form yes/no to detailed explanation. Whatever you choose.

Thank you for your time!

1. What is your definition of a ‘skyscraper’?

2. Do you think skyscrapers are the long term solution to urban problems? Why yes/not?

3. After 09/11/2001 many believed that skyscrapers are not safe. With new building regulation, materials and engineering solutions, do you think the are still unsafe?

4. Would you like to live in a skyscraper? Do you think it could provide better living conditions that the old houses and/or shady neighbourhoods?

5. What is your opinion of the so called ‘skyscraper cities’ or ‘vertical cities’? Example here.

6. What is your opinion of skyscrapers being built in old cities like London, Paris, etc. Or sacred locations such as Mecca? Do you think they can somehow be incorporated within the existing areas or not?

7. Anything else to share?