daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > Infrastructure and Mobility Forums > Railways

Railways (Inter)national commuter and freight trains



Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.


Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old June 16th, 2009, 01:25 AM   #101
paris_nombril
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 49
Likes (Received): 2

Completion of LGV 3

"Line 3 completes high speed network
15 Jun 2009
BELGIUM: Line 3 between Liège and the German border was inaugurated on June 12, completing the last link in the star-shaped national high speed network and making Belgium the first European country to have a network of high speed lines linking its borders.[…]"

http://www.railwaygazette.com/news_v...d_network.html
paris_nombril no está en línea   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old June 16th, 2009, 04:28 PM   #102
Yetzirah231
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Utrechter in Jerusalem
Posts: 562
Likes (Received): 389

I must say: CONGRETULATIONS Belgium !!! It's good for the region, and you do much better than Holland.
As a Dutchy I feel ashamed that the procedures take so long in Holland, and here they are always complaining about money. And I feel ashamed that Holland boycotted earlier the Antwerp-Ruhrgebied railline.

Anyway, as an Utrechter, our most important line to Brussels is upgrading.
2nd important line should be now to make the tracks from Utrecht to Arnhem to 4 tracks, for higher speed.
AND: the government thinks again about a railline between Utrecht and Breda, so than people from the north-east can come quicker for a day to Antwerp etc. :-)

Quote:
see picture from MOMO 1435
I like the roadsign on the left side :-) hope it helps for high-speed cars.
At least they left some space for slow traffic: cows.
On the right side the idea of a rail track mainly combined +
next to the to upgrade highway Utrecht-Breda.

Last edited by Yetzirah231; June 16th, 2009 at 04:41 PM.
Yetzirah231 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2009, 04:43 PM   #103
hans280
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Paris
Posts: 756
Likes (Received): 173

Yeah, congratulations Belgium! I have often taken the train between Brussels and Western Germany and he old line - though quite pretty, in terms of nature - was a bit of a nightmare. This improvement will be welcomed by millions and no doubt give the railway sector in Belgium a shot in the arm.

I take issues with the article, though, according to which this is "...making Belgium the first European country to have a network of high speed lines linking its borders". I mean... surely not? You could just as well argue that the Lille-Paris-Nimes-Figueras connection (1300 km long, I may add) consitutes a linking of France's borders. True, the bit between Nimes and Perpignan is not HS, but then again, neither is the bit bewteen Louvain and Liege - to which comes that the sections of LGV3 east of Liege, whilst a huge improvement over what was, isn't HS in strictu sensu of the European 250 km/h definition.
hans280 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 12:02 AM   #104
JOVANO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 110
Likes (Received): 0

Quote:
Originally Posted by hans280 View Post
Yeah, congratulations Belgium! I have often taken the train between Brussels and Western Germany and he old line - though quite pretty, in terms of nature - was a bit of a nightmare. This improvement will be welcomed by millions and no doubt give the railway sector in Belgium a shot in the arm.

I take issues with the article, though, according to which this is "...making Belgium the first European country to have a network of high speed lines linking its borders". I mean... surely not? You could just as well argue that the Lille-Paris-Nimes-Figueras connection (1300 km long, I may add) consitutes a linking of France's borders. True, the bit between Nimes and Perpignan is not HS, but then again, neither is the bit bewteen Louvain and Liege - to which comes that the sections of LGV3 east of Liege, whilst a huge improvement over what was, isn't HS in strictu sensu of the European 250 km/h definition.

They mean, all LGV lines are completed as planned.
Maybe other plans will be developped (Brussels-Luxemburg ??).

But this project is ready. More or less on time.

So full speed to Paris, London, Cologne is possible now.

To the North, we wait a little more for our Dutch neighbours who unfortunately make things always complicated

Lower speed in the Soumagne tunel is maybe good for safety ??

From the border to Cologne, there is still some work to do, isn't it ???
JOVANO no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 03:51 AM   #105
JoKo65
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,111
Likes (Received): 86

Quote:
Originally Posted by JOVANO View Post
[…]

From the border to Cologne, there is still some work to do, isn't it ???
Yes, between Aachen and Düren, upgrade from 160 km/h to 200 km/h.
__________________
L'Amerique? C'est l'évolution de la barbarie à la décadence, sans toucher la culture.
JoKo65 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 05:12 AM   #106
hoosier
Registered User
 
hoosier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,446
Likes (Received): 58

Even though HSL Zuid is not ready for Thalys service yet, the track is complete which is a good thing for sure.

I know that there is a rail tunnel west of Aachen that is being upgraded and double tracked to allow higher speeds for Thalys.
__________________
R.I.P. Moke- my best bud
hoosier no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 12:32 PM   #107
JoKo65
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,111
Likes (Received): 86

Thalys can't use LGV 3 at the moment, from winter Thalys will use it.
__________________
L'Amerique? C'est l'évolution de la barbarie à la décadence, sans toucher la culture.
JoKo65 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2009, 12:33 PM   #108
JoKo65
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,111
Likes (Received): 86

ICE uses the new line now.

ICE leaves the LGV 3 at the western end in Chênée. The train is just passing the voltage changeover from 25 kV 50 Hz to 3 kV DC, all pantographs are down:


railfaneurope.net
__________________
L'Amerique? C'est l'évolution de la barbarie à la décadence, sans toucher la culture.
JoKo65 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2010, 02:20 AM   #109
patroeski
Registered User
 
patroeski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Leuven, Brussels
Posts: 614
Likes (Received): 8

Some nice views of the new station:

image hosted on flickr


image hosted on flickr


image hosted on flickr
patroeski no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2010, 02:28 AM   #110
Mr. Fitz
Get Your Walk On Son!
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dublin
Posts: 256
Likes (Received): 4

Wow.
Mr. Fitz no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2010, 01:05 PM   #111
gincan
Gincan
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 887
Likes (Received): 183

A feast for the eye, but as with most of Calatravas designs it is not a practical solution. I can imagine standing on the platform during windy winter days freezing my but. The main problem I have with Calatrava is that he never design for the end user, it is as if he totally forget that his buildings are supposed to be utilized by humans, so most often his designs end up unpractical and even dangerous as in the case with some of his bridges.
gincan no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2010, 03:21 PM   #112
briker
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cape of No Hope
Posts: 4,127
Likes (Received): 90

that's fantastic!
briker no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 10:09 PM   #113
joshsam
JR
 
joshsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sint-Truiden
Posts: 7,165
Likes (Received): 5408


http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b1...o/P3200268.jpg


http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b1...o/P3200272.jpg


http://i771.photobucket.com/albums/x..._2673_1024.jpg


http://i771.photobucket.com/albums/x..._2674_1024.jpg


http://i771.photobucket.com/albums/x..._2676_1024.jpg
__________________
Ceci n'est pas un pays, een bananenrepubliek ja!
joshsam no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2011, 03:43 PM   #114
Mr_Dru
Registered User
 
Mr_Dru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,384
Likes (Received): 547

The nices railwaystations in the Benelux for me is:
#1 Liege
#2 Antwerpen
#3 Amsterdam
Mr_Dru no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2011, 07:39 AM   #115
cal_t
Transport Advocate
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Brisbane/Melb
Posts: 455
Likes (Received): 22

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoKo65 View Post
ICE uses the new line now.

ICE leaves the LGV 3 at the western end in Chênée. The train is just passing the voltage changeover from 25 kV 50 Hz to 3 kV DC, all pantographs are down:


railfaneurope.net
Does anyone know how this process works and be able to explain this in detail?

Is the changeover automatic based on beacons or does the train operator have to manually lower the pantos?

What happens during the changeover from within the cab? Is there a voltage selection that needs to be selected from the controls or when does the train auto-detect incoming voltage once the pans are raised?
__________________
Any views expressed are do not represent those of any companies and are personal only. If you are not the intended viewer, you may not disseminate or disclose this information.
cal_t no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2011, 04:43 PM   #116
Baron Hirsch
Kara Tren Solcusu
 
Baron Hirsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin/Istanbul
Posts: 1,337
Likes (Received): 475

People, do we just have to celebrate progress here all the time, even when on the ground things are not so fabulous? Another rail forum reported that a few days ago. Due to engine damage, two Thalys from Amsterdam to Paris reached Brussels several hours late. As the French high-speed network shuts down at night, the double train was not permitted to continue beyond Brussels. As no train engineer was available for taking the train through the regular network to Paris, they simply made all passengers spend the night in Brussels without providing hotel rooms. The train finally arrived the next morning 13 hours late. So fancy train stations, hightec to heck if the trains are managed like this.
Baron Hirsch no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2011, 04:58 PM   #117
joshsam
JR
 
joshsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sint-Truiden
Posts: 7,165
Likes (Received): 5408

Look at your own country first, how is highspeed rail doing in Turkey?
and tell me how many times does that occur?
__________________
Ceci n'est pas un pays, een bananenrepubliek ja!
joshsam no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2011, 05:33 PM   #118
Baron Hirsch
Kara Tren Solcusu
 
Baron Hirsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin/Istanbul
Posts: 1,337
Likes (Received): 475

Oh please, do not be so primitive to turn this into a "my country's better than your country" thing. I can say for a fact that no Turkish High-Speed train has yet run 14 hours late, simply since they are only around for two years and the line is only a 250 km - ride anyways. As for delays on old-fashioned lines, of course they can be horrible here.
The one thing they always manage in this country (and for that matter, in most countries I can think of) is to organize some busses in case a train breaks down. As for Thalys, the last time I used it, my train was delayed because, as one fellow waiting passenger translated from Dutch for me, "for lack of a train engineer."
So what i am aiming at is:
# Why does the French rail network have to be so insistent on shutting down at night that they leave over 400 passengers stranded?
# Why is Thalys too cheap to keep one or two train engineers on reserve like other companies would do?
# Why is Thalys too cheap to provide hotel rooms as they are obliged to by EU law?
Baron Hirsch no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2011, 09:22 PM   #119
Silly_Walks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3,974
Likes (Received): 836

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshsam View Post
Look at your own country first, how is highspeed rail doing in Turkey?
and tell me how many times does that occur?
Woah woah, the man raises a valid point.
Silly_Walks no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2011, 09:25 PM   #120
Silly_Walks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3,974
Likes (Received): 836

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron Hirsch View Post
# Why does the French rail network have to be so insistent on shutting down at night that they leave over 400 passengers stranded?
# Why is Thalys too cheap to keep one or two train engineers on reserve like other companies would do?
# Why is Thalys too cheap to provide hotel rooms as they are obliged to by EU law?
I'm not sure if it's EU law for train travel, might just be plane travel.

There are many problems with Thalys... they should be ashamed about this, but they are not.
Silly_Walks no está en línea   Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
belgium, liège, tgv

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Related topics on SkyscraperCity


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us | privacy policy | DMCA policy

tech management by Sysprosium