daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > World Forums > Architecture

Architecture news and discussions on all buildings types and urban spaces
» Classic Architecture | European Classic Architecture and Landscapes | Public Space | Shopping Architecture | Design & Lifestyle | Urban Renewal and Redevelopment



Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.


Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old June 30th, 2005, 12:12 PM   #1
Forza Raalte
Registered User
 
Forza Raalte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Raalte
Posts: 7,209
Likes (Received): 2

Which towers need spires and which towers definitely don't.

Which towers need spires and which towers definitely don't?


It doesn't mather if the tower has a spire and it shouldn't have one (like the Shung Hing square IMO) .

Or a tower doesn't have a spire are surely shouldn't have on too (like the SwissRe)
Or planned/approved/under construction buildings which have spires and don't need one, like the new Freedom Tower. It will look so much more simple and elegant and more beautiful without the spire.


Same with the need of spires. Some towers really need a spire, what is the ESB withouth it's spire
but also with which exists and don't have a spire but on which it will sure look great.
same with the proposed/under constructions/approved buildings.

Show us your view on towers with spires.
Forza Raalte no está en línea   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old June 30th, 2005, 02:10 PM   #2
hella good
Something of a monster
 
hella good's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sheffield!
Posts: 15,263
Likes (Received): 2661

I dont think that the bank of china tower in shanghai needs its piddling little spire, it doesnt fit.

__________________
@CODASheffield
Twitter
My Instagram
CODA Instagram
hella good no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2005, 02:15 PM   #3
RafflesCity
By Spirit
 
RafflesCity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S I N G A P O R E
Posts: 25,909
Likes (Received): 105

I agree..that was kinda lame
RafflesCity no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2005, 07:36 PM   #4
ENDOPHINS
****** Guest
 
ENDOPHINS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hong Kong, China
Posts: 280
Likes (Received): 18

bloomberg tower doesn't need its little spire too
ENDOPHINS no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2005, 11:08 AM   #5
kichigai
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,177
Likes (Received): 182

EUREKA Tower Melbourne (UC)
Doesn't need a spire/communications mast.
This one is still before the planning people so hopefully (though unlikely) it will be knocked back.
kichigai no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2005, 11:51 AM   #6
Sikario
Loopy Londoner
 
Sikario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London
Posts: 377
Likes (Received): 7

Almost every flat roofer scraper and round roofed scrapers should be without a spire.
Sikario no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2005, 12:17 PM   #7
malec
Rrrraaaaaahhhhhhh!!!!!!!
 
malec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cork
Posts: 9,598
Likes (Received): 125

Quote:
Originally Posted by kichigai
EUREKA Tower Melbourne (UC)
Doesn't need a spire/communications mast.
This one is still before the planning people so hopefully (though unlikely) it will be knocked back.
I thought that spire has mostly been built
malec no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2005, 01:45 PM   #8
kichigai
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,177
Likes (Received): 182

The core has topped out, but a decision on the spire/communications mast is still to come.
kichigai no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2005, 04:10 PM   #9
RafflesCity
By Spirit
 
RafflesCity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S I N G A P O R E
Posts: 25,909
Likes (Received): 105

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sikario
Almost every flat roofer scraper and round roofed scrapers should be without a spire.
I agree with this..nevertheless the twin spires on CITIC Plaza, Guangzhou seem to work very well on it, although it means that the building cheats massively for height.
RafflesCity no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2005, 06:23 PM   #10
Obelixx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,890
Likes (Received): 83

TV Towers need of course spires for VHF/UHF-antennas. Skyscrapers require them, if they carry antennas for VHF/UHF or mobile phone services on their top.
Electricity pylons for ground conductors.

Chimneys require no spires
Obelixx no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2005, 11:42 PM   #11
Effer
E Pluribus Unum
 
Effer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vanderbilt
Posts: 3,741
Likes (Received): 226

The Aon center (in Chicago) should have at least a antenna on the top!
Effer no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2005, 11:49 PM   #12
dubaiflo
Back in the Sandpit
 
dubaiflo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Munich | Dubai | London
Posts: 15,037
Likes (Received): 35

burj dubai needs a spire.
would look tacky without
dubaiflo no está en línea   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Related topics on SkyscraperCity


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us | privacy policy | DMCA policy

Hosted by Blacksun, dedicated to this site too!
Forum server management by DaiTengu