daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy (aug.2, 2013) | DMCA policy | flipboard magazine

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > World Forums > Tall Buildings & Urban Habitat

Tall Buildings & Urban Habitat Hosted forums of the Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat for all students and professionals.
» tall & green | tall building design

Old April 16th, 2006, 11:52 AM   #1
jonsoon

Likes (Received): 0

Is it advisable to cast concrete column at half?

to the construction pros,

i work as a quantity surveyor . last week my site is having a concrete column casting. due to excess volume of concrete.. my site personnel so called "senior site supervisor" ordered the workers to pour it into another empty concrete column mould (which was not scheduled for concreting on that day)..

to my agony, he cast the column (size of 1.2m x 0.6 m x 2.7 m high) which support the loads of 20 storeys half way..and he insist to continue the other half on the following day..even my site resident structure engineer oppose such action.

casting half of the column and continue a day later..will result a cold joint in the middle of the column..and will greatly affect the strength of the load bearing column...

to your surprise, the senior site supervisor shouted at us and said " i have been supervising concrete casting for 30 years, i say can means can!"...

so in your opinion, since we can cast the whole column to full height why not? is it advisable to do so?
jonsoon no está en línea   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links

Old April 16th, 2006, 12:52 PM   #2
Kit
arkitect

I don't quite understand what you meant ny casting half way but columns are usually cast in sections. In fact, you don't usually structural members cast in full height at once.