daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > World Development News Forums > General Urban Developments > DN Archives



Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.


Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old July 12th, 2006, 09:38 PM   #381
STR
What'u smokin' Willis?
 
STR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,095
Likes (Received): 104

Does it included the occupied portion? That section hasn't been altered and I'm very interested in the structural layout of the floors.
__________________
There are six phases to every project 1) enthusiasm, 2) disillusionment, 3) panic, 4) search for the guilty, 5) punishment of the innocent, 6) praise for the non-participants. - Guy Tozzoli
Build your own Model Skyscrapers** New World Trade Center (2006-) 3D Model ** World Trade Center (1971-2001) 3D Model
STR no está en línea   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old July 13th, 2006, 05:16 AM   #382
megatower
BANNED
 
megatower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,214
Likes (Received): 34

tell you the truth level 147 an't that small. considering its going to be used for offices.because a good seize office is 200 sqft to 300 sqft. so level 147 has 8,277 sqft which is still pready big for something this high.and you could get a goos amount of offices up there.
megatower no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2006, 05:38 AM   #383
STR
What'u smokin' Willis?
 
STR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,095
Likes (Received): 104

^For a functional office, you need alot more than 300sqft. A modern North American or Asian office floorplate is well over 30,000 usable sqft. Foster's Index will have 25,000 sqft on its office floors. The Burj Dubai office midrises look to be around 30,000-40,000 sqft per floor. Emirates Tower I seems to be around 15,000 sqft average. I'm not aware of too many other office buildings in Dubai, they've mostly built residential and hotel hirises.
__________________
There are six phases to every project 1) enthusiasm, 2) disillusionment, 3) panic, 4) search for the guilty, 5) punishment of the innocent, 6) praise for the non-participants. - Guy Tozzoli
Build your own Model Skyscrapers** New World Trade Center (2006-) 3D Model ** World Trade Center (1971-2001) 3D Model

Last edited by STR; July 13th, 2006 at 05:44 AM.
STR no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2006, 06:07 AM   #384
Krazy
Kool Kat
 
Krazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 12,557
Likes (Received): 35

That's true.. most of the existing high rise towers in Dubai are residential/hotel/serviced apartments. That's why there is a huge demand and shortage of freehold office space in Dubai currently. And that's why Business Bay was announced.. 100's of high rise towers dedicated to providing office space.
Krazy no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2006, 06:57 AM   #385
megatower
BANNED
 
megatower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,214
Likes (Received): 34

no you dont needed 30,000 usable sqft or more .a seize office i am talking about is just for 1 person.which is around 200,300 sqft. so if you look at it theres enought sqft for about 25 people includint there desks and what ever else they needed.which comes to 7500sqft.and there enought sqft for bathrooms and the elevator. so its not that skinny at the top to tell you the truth.but does anybody EXACTLY HOW MUCH SQFT ON EACH FLOOR above level 140?????
megatower no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2006, 07:26 PM   #386
STR
What'u smokin' Willis?
 
STR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,095
Likes (Received): 104

^Yes you do need massive floorplates. Companies don't pay hundreds of dollars a year per square foot just so one man can have a fancy office. Not any more at least. You need large, mostly column free space to attract major tenants.

No doubt there is a market for BD offices, and they will be leased, but you cannot ignore the obvious fact that it has very small floorplates for a modern office building, especially considering almost half the floor will be taken up by stairwells, elevators, and other service functions. 4,000sqft is tiny.
__________________
There are six phases to every project 1) enthusiasm, 2) disillusionment, 3) panic, 4) search for the guilty, 5) punishment of the innocent, 6) praise for the non-participants. - Guy Tozzoli
Build your own Model Skyscrapers** New World Trade Center (2006-) 3D Model ** World Trade Center (1971-2001) 3D Model

Last edited by STR; July 13th, 2006 at 07:32 PM.
STR no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2006, 09:23 PM   #387
megatower
BANNED
 
megatower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,214
Likes (Received): 34

well not really 4,000sqft, but its 8,277sqft.and reall its not small because look at the sears tower it has 1 thro 49.each floor thro those floors are 50,000sqft.so that means 5,569 sqft can fit in each bundle tube. so burj dubai for the top floors are 8,277sqft.so that bigger then one sears tower bundle tube.and it's all most as big as 2 sears tower bundle tubes.but the sears tower has 2,861 sqft more if you were to put just 2 bundle tubes to geather just to see the seize of the burj dubai's sqft.so it isnt that small.and everybody know's how big 1 bundle tube of the sears tower is but imagin 147 floors up haveing 8,277 sqft that the tower does have at that level. and almost big as 2 sears tower bundle tubes.
megatower no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2006, 09:45 PM   #388
germantower
i ♥ NY
 
germantower's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,454
Likes (Received): 1155

what!

At level 147 it has nearly the same size as 2 Sears Tower bundles.I have never realised how big this thing is at that level untli now.So they can occupy theese floors easily!At Sears they do it too!

Question!

Does someone jknow how much square feets it has at level 160?
germantower no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2006, 04:24 AM   #389
Trae
Registered User
 
Trae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Metro Houston
Posts: 1,790
Likes (Received): 20

Dubai is amazing.



1991-2005
Trae no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2006, 07:47 AM   #390
TowerPower
Ashld-biggest little city
 
TowerPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ashland, and Eugene, OR (USA)
Posts: 634
Likes (Received): 1

2006
TowerPower no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2006, 08:04 AM   #391
megatower
BANNED
 
megatower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,214
Likes (Received): 34

yes germantower its close to almost 2 sears tower bundle tubes.because they say the sears tower has 50,000sqft floors so each bundle tube is 5,569 sqft.so senice burj dubai its only 8,277sqft at the level 147.its more then 1 sears tower bundle tube almost 2 .so yeah its kinda big up on that level.so its a possible that the other floors above 160 could be used for what ever.

Last edited by megatower; July 14th, 2006 at 08:10 AM.
megatower no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2006, 08:26 AM   #392
STR
What'u smokin' Willis?
 
STR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,095
Likes (Received): 104

^You're arguing for its own sake and I'm done with you. You have demonstrated only your stubborness and ignorance of real estate. You're also using incorrect information and using them in flawed arguments.

FACT: The majority of BD offices will be on plates of 8,300 usable sqft or less.
FACT: The top 9 office floors of the sears tower are 9,500 usable sqft.
Conclusion? None. Who's saying the upper floors of the Sears Tower aren't small too? If it was 10,000 per floor for the entire height, Sears wouldn't market well as a corporate HQ that it serves as.

It's that kind of insipid straw man arguments that tire me very quickly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by germantower
what!

At level 147 it has nearly the same size as 2 Sears Tower bundles.I have never realised how big this thing is at that level untli now.So they can occupy theese floors easily!At Sears they do it too!

Question!

Does someone jknow how much square feets it has at level 160?
Incorrect. Levels 114-126, just above and below the observation deck, the floorplates are roughly equal to those in the top of Sears Tower. By Level 147, they're roughly 4,500 sqft. By the time it reaches 160, it's close to 2,000 sqft.

I assume it was because of the very small floors near the top is why they move the deck down to 123-124, where there's more room.
__________________
There are six phases to every project 1) enthusiasm, 2) disillusionment, 3) panic, 4) search for the guilty, 5) punishment of the innocent, 6) praise for the non-participants. - Guy Tozzoli
Build your own Model Skyscrapers** New World Trade Center (2006-) 3D Model ** World Trade Center (1971-2001) 3D Model
STR no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2006, 09:17 AM   #393
Absolut355
I Heart Height
 
Absolut355's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: STL
Posts: 299
Likes (Received): 0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trae
Dubai is amazing.



1991-2005
I really like this comparison....one can only imagine what it will look like in 2 years (or did I mean 2 months?? )
__________________
"There are only 49 stars on that flag!"
"I'll be deep in the cold, cold ground before I recognize Missourah" - Abe Simpson

www.urbanstl.com
Absolut355 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2006, 11:11 AM   #394
megatower
BANNED
 
megatower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,214
Likes (Received): 34

well them how com on that Automated translation of the German article says,

525m(L 147): 769 m2
475m(L 108):1524 m2
250m(L 73):2,178 m2
27m(L 7):3,158 m2
and you said by the ((Level 147, they're roughly 4,500 sqft.)) well you were qrong because that graph shows were the offices are at.because you said((FACT: The majority of BD offices will be on plates of 8,300 usable sqft or less.)) and you right because level 147 is 8,277 SQFT and it shows it on the graph in color.so unless you have a floor plan that shows the top of the building sqft then i am some what right.and by the time it does get to level 160 theres maybe more then 2,000 sqft.and you were wrong about ((By Level 147, they're roughly 4,500 sqft)) because it shows on that graph agin in color ,LEVEL 147,769 M2.WHICH EQUALS 8,277 SQFT.
megatower no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2006, 12:47 PM   #395
CULWULLA
Registered User
 
CULWULLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 62,770
Likes (Received): 10147

SWFC seems to be increasing its height lead. its now lev53 or 251m, while burjD is apprx lev54/210m.
cheers
__________________
Sydney Harbour Bridge -1932, Sydney Opera House- 1973, Sydney Tower- 1981, Crown Sydney- 2020.. https://www.buildsydney.com/forum
CULWULLA no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2006, 01:06 PM   #396
malec
Rrrraaaaaahhhhhhh!!!!!!!
 
malec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cork
Posts: 9,598
Likes (Received): 125

Imagine owning this apartment

malec no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2006, 01:19 PM   #397
Mosaic
BANGKOK
 
Mosaic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 13,304
Likes (Received): 762

Gosh!!! How large is this room????
Mosaic no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2006, 01:41 PM   #398
valhar2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 221
Likes (Received): 0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosaic
Gosh!!! How large is this room????
Well, having lived once in a flat this size, I can tell you it's not bad at all; you manage to find space to put things in.
valhar2000 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2006, 01:49 PM   #399
malec
Rrrraaaaaahhhhhhh!!!!!!!
 
malec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cork
Posts: 9,598
Likes (Received): 125

I think this is one of the best apartments you can get in this tower. It's on the 103rd floor I think and is VEEERY expensive
malec no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2006, 01:54 PM   #400
Mosaic
BANGKOK
 
Mosaic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 13,304
Likes (Received): 762

Quote:
Originally Posted by malec
I think this is one of the best apartments you can get in this tower. It's on the 103rd floor I think and is VEEERY expensive

Will it be World's tallest apartment floor???
Mosaic no está en línea   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Related topics on SkyscraperCity


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us | privacy policy | DMCA policy

Hosted by Blacksun, dedicated to this site too!
Forum server management by DaiTengu