daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > World Development News Forums > General Urban Developments > DN Archives



Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.


Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old August 1st, 2006, 12:44 PM   #201
DocShergar
He's a beauty!
 
DocShergar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 549
Likes (Received): 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krazy
Latest from Brian McMorrow - picture taken yesterday



Click here for more
Nice picture. Brian McMorrow has taken some really good picture of Dubai over the last few years. Credit goes out to him where ever he may be!

__________________
Twitter: follow me @GlenDoc
DocShergar no está en línea   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old August 1st, 2006, 03:24 PM   #202
Arch
Charley says
 
Arch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cydonia
Posts: 167
Likes (Received): 14

Another 15 floors and they will have reach the halfway point of the concrete structure.
Arch no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2006, 06:05 PM   #203
ZZ-II
I love Skyscrapers
 
ZZ-II's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Near Ingolstadt in Bavaria
Posts: 33,506
Likes (Received): 6526

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arch
Another 15 floors and they will have reach the halfway point of the concrete structure.
Why this??

58F + 15F = 73F

73F*2 = 146

But there are 160F - 189F!!
ZZ-II no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2006, 06:16 PM   #204
dubaiflo
Back in the Sandpit
 
dubaiflo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Munich | Dubai | London
Posts: 15,037
Likes (Received): 35

And here is the Dubai - The Megaprojects - The Video

Version 2 to download, go to http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=379638

or visit www.dubai-video.tk

with full Burj Dubai footage also.
dubaiflo no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2006, 06:16 PM   #205
megatower
BANNED
 
megatower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,214
Likes (Received): 34

Quote:
Originally Posted by CULWULLA
^ well thats the big question. some sources have said there will be a total of 189 floors in burjD, which can only mean there will be 30 or so in steel section above lev160. i dont they will be inhabitable. who knows.but certainly contain "levels" with access.
IF IT DID GO 189 FLOORS.HOW HIGH WOULD THAT FLOOR LEVEL BE LIKE 2,313 THAT WILL BE INHABITABLE AND THEN THE REST OF THE STRUCTURE WOULD BE THE SPIRE?
megatower no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2006, 09:56 PM   #206
ToRoNto, g-town
Registered User
 
ToRoNto, g-town's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 748
Likes (Received): 10

wow i still cant beleive the size of this building.. i want to see it for myself but its to far.. maybe when its all complete
__________________
I Own
ToRoNto, g-town no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 12:57 AM   #207
vincent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,380
Likes (Received): 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZ-II
Why this??

58F + 15F = 73F

73F*2 = 146

But there are 160F - 189F!!
i believe the top portion of the tower is built with steel instead.
vincent no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 02:33 AM   #208
CULWULLA
Registered User
 
CULWULLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 62,760
Likes (Received): 10143

Quote:
Originally Posted by megatower
IF IT DID GO 189 FLOORS.HOW HIGH WOULD THAT FLOOR LEVEL BE LIKE 2,313 THAT WILL BE INHABITABLE AND THEN THE REST OF THE STRUCTURE WOULD BE THE SPIRE?
the base of pinnacle would be approx 735m/2400ft or roof of 189th floor.
These so called "platforms" lev162-189 are very small levels, approx only 20m wide and only 10m wide near the top, but they are enclosed so thus called levels. all speculation of course. lol ;-)
__________________
Sydney Harbour Bridge -1932, Sydney Opera House- 1973, Sydney Tower- 1981, Crown Sydney- 2020.. https://www.buildsydney.com/forum
CULWULLA no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 02:48 AM   #209
SpaceScraper
SpaceScraper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 159
Likes (Received): 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H
Time for some curtainwall!
I was thinking the same thing. The electrical/mechanical contract was signed way back in September of 2005. That seems like a long time ago. Maybe they expected to start electrical/mechanical work earlier this year?

In a normal climate, I think you would already see curtain wall going up so the electrical/mechanical work could be started. The Shanghai World Financial Center already has its curtain wall going up.

Dubai, though, is in really hot and dry desert. So, would it be worth the chance of exposing the electrical/mechanical to rain that rarely happens in order to keep the winodws off and the breezes coming in? If so, maybe the electrical/mechanical is already started and you just can't see it clearly in the pictures.

Or, maybe, the windows are delayed, which will delay the electrical/mechanical and extend constuction into 2009?

Does anyone know? Am I the only one beginning to wonder about this?
SpaceScraper no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 04:58 AM   #210
megatower
BANNED
 
megatower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,214
Likes (Received): 34

Quote:
Originally Posted by CULWULLA
the base of pinnacle would be approx 735m/2400ft or roof of 189th floor.
These so called "platforms" lev162-189 are very small levels, approx only 20m wide and only 10m wide near the top, but they are enclosed so thus called levels. all speculation of course. lol ;-)
those platforms, can they be used.those 27 platforms sound pretty big to me.but the 10m wide part,is that for the starting of the spire.and the platforms they sounded like they could be used,beacuse its 65 feet wide and that's a big, for that height???? but i HAD a BIG qeastion......is it 20 m wide at level 162 throught 189?????
megatower no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 05:21 AM   #211
Vengineer
Registered User
 
Vengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 78
Likes (Received): 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpaceScraper
I was thinking the same thing. The electrical/mechanical contract was signed way back in September of 2005. That seems like a long time ago. Maybe they expected to start electrical/mechanical work earlier this year?

In a normal climate, I think you would already see curtain wall going up so the electrical/mechanical work could be started. The Shanghai World Financial Center already has its curtain wall going up.

Dubai, though, is in really hot and dry desert. So, would it be worth the chance of exposing the electrical/mechanical to rain that rarely happens in order to keep the winodws off and the breezes coming in? If so, maybe the electrical/mechanical is already started and you just can't see it clearly in the pictures.

Or, maybe, the windows are delayed, which will delay the electrical/mechanical and extend constuction into 2009?

Does anyone know? Am I the only one beginning to wonder about this?
SpaceScraper... that made absolutely no sense. Do you really know what you're talking about or are you pulling these things out of your ass?
__________________
New York City
Supertalls

1776' (541m) - WTC Tower One
1350' (411m) - WTC Tower Two
1255' (382m) - WTC Tower Three
1250' (381m) - Empire State Building
1200' (366m) - One Bryant Park
1046' (319m) - Chrysler Building
1047' (319m) - NY Times Tower
1360' (414m) - Hudson Center North
1240' (378m) - Hudson Center South

Vengineer no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 07:40 AM   #212
CULWULLA
Registered User
 
CULWULLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 62,760
Likes (Received): 10143

Quote:
Originally Posted by megatower
those platforms, can they be used.those 27 platforms sound pretty big to me.but the 10m wide part,is that for the starting of the spire.and the platforms they sounded like they could be used,beacuse its 65 feet wide and that's a big, for that height???? but i HAD a BIG qeastion......is it 20 m wide at level 162 throught 189?????
im not sure if top 30 steel floors can be used? maybe maintence? spire access?
At lev162 the tower is 50m wide. It steps gradually after that and is about 10m wide at 735m high.
As for burjD external clading, i think Altin said the glazing contractor is being signed up. Its a big job and alot of cladding! lol but soon as contrcat is signed. we should start to see facade.
__________________
Sydney Harbour Bridge -1932, Sydney Opera House- 1973, Sydney Tower- 1981, Crown Sydney- 2020.. https://www.buildsydney.com/forum
CULWULLA no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 08:44 AM   #213
CULWULLA
Registered User
 
CULWULLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 62,760
Likes (Received): 10143

just for interest, the top 10 floors of taipei 101 (fl92-101) range from 14mx14m-19mx19m in width, (196sqm-360sqm), so gives you an idea the size of upper steel floors of BurjD


__________________
Sydney Harbour Bridge -1932, Sydney Opera House- 1973, Sydney Tower- 1981, Crown Sydney- 2020.. https://www.buildsydney.com/forum
CULWULLA no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 09:41 AM   #214
ZZ-II
I love Skyscrapers
 
ZZ-II's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Near Ingolstadt in Bavaria
Posts: 33,506
Likes (Received): 6526

I've Think they would be smaller. 360mē is not to small i think!
ZZ-II no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 12:15 PM   #215
germantower
i ♥ NY
 
germantower's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,452
Likes (Received): 1155

They should use the last 10 floors for the public.For example estaurants, higher ob-decks etc.

BTW is the height of 808m now confirmed?Or it is still a spculated height?
germantower no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 01:28 PM   #216
Dave H
Registered User
 
Dave H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 78
Likes (Received): 8

The reason for starting curtainwall is to allow interior wall framing to begin. I'm not sure if rain is a big concern in Dubai or not, but getting the interior climate controlled is a consideration for elevator machinery and finishes that are sensitive to humidity levels.
If wall framing were to begin prior to curtainwall, movement of the curtainwall materials around the perimeter of each floor would be impeded.
Dave H no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 01:54 PM   #217
CULWULLA
Registered User
 
CULWULLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 62,760
Likes (Received): 10143

Quote:
Originally Posted by germantower
They should use the last 10 floors for the public.For example estaurants, higher ob-decks etc.

BTW is the height of 808m now confirmed?Or it is still a spculated height?
well its not really confirmed but 808m= half a mile exactly! thus head architect paying homage to his hero Frank lloyd wrights mile high -Illinois-.
Ive also seen 810m figure. I definately think burjD wil be around 800m height.so sounds good.;-)
zz-11- im just calculating 19mx19m which equals 360sqm.lol
yes alot are smaller at 200sqm.
__________________
Sydney Harbour Bridge -1932, Sydney Opera House- 1973, Sydney Tower- 1981, Crown Sydney- 2020.. https://www.buildsydney.com/forum
CULWULLA no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 01:57 PM   #218
germantower
i ♥ NY
 
germantower's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,452
Likes (Received): 1155

Yes Cull you are right.I also heard that Adrian D Smith dream was to build something around a half mile or so!
germantower no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 02:01 PM   #219
ZZ-II
I love Skyscrapers
 
ZZ-II's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Near Ingolstadt in Bavaria
Posts: 33,506
Likes (Received): 6526

800m are better than nothing
ZZ-II no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 05:03 PM   #220
megatower
BANNED
 
megatower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,214
Likes (Received): 34

Quote:
Originally Posted by CULWULLA
im not sure if top 30 steel floors can be used? maybe maintence? spire access?
At lev162 the tower is 50m wide. It steps gradually after that and is about 10m wide at 735m high.
As for burjD external clading, i think Altin said the glazing contractor is being signed up. Its a big job and alot of cladding! lol but soon as contrcat is signed. we should start to see facade.
WELL THAT SUCKS.BECAUSE AT THAT HEIGHT ITS 50M WIDE I DONT SEEE WHY THEY CANT US THOSE FLOORS. THATS 164 FEET WIDE HOW BIGGER DO YOU NEEDED IT TO BE USED? SO THE LAST FLOOR WONT BE CLOSE TO 705 METERS THO? I REALLY HOPE THOSE LAST 30 FLOORS CAN BE USED
megatower no está en línea   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Related topics on SkyscraperCity


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us | privacy policy | DMCA policy

Hosted by Blacksun, dedicated to this site too!
Forum server management by DaiTengu