daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > World Development News Forums > General Urban Developments > DN Archives



Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.


Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old February 4th, 2010, 01:52 PM   #12841
droneriot
Urban Hermit
 
droneriot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cydonia Mensae
Posts: 4,664
Likes (Received): 2622

Quote:
Originally Posted by wtcprogress
700 tons more than the total amount of steel in the Eiffel Tower.
Holy sh.......
droneriot no está en línea   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old February 4th, 2010, 03:37 PM   #12842
Nomadd22
Registered User
 
Nomadd22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere in New Jersey
Posts: 250
Likes (Received): 1

Uh...175 tons? Doesn't seem likely they trucked anything like that in one piece.
Nomadd22 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 05:29 PM   #12843
Krattle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 437
Likes (Received): 12

Wait, so they only have ~6 floors in the lobby portion, and then they jump to 20? So it doesn't really have 108 floors, they just chopped out 14. Doesn't any find that to be a terrible waste of space when they were able to fit a full 110 floors in the original World Trade Center?
Krattle no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 05:32 PM   #12844
Viperfreak2
BANNED
 
Viperfreak2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 525
Likes (Received): 48

There's no rule, or law, that says how you have to 'label' each floor. If the first office floor is the height of a 20 story building, that makes sense. Regular people will never get to go to these mechanical floors anyway. Come to think of it, every building in the USA over 12 stories tall has a floor mis-match. There are no 13th floors (That I know of)
Viperfreak2 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 05:50 PM   #12845
Nomadd22
Registered User
 
Nomadd22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere in New Jersey
Posts: 250
Likes (Received): 1

I think the 20th floor is figured from the lowest underground level at 13' 4" per floor. Up till then they just use the actual floor number from ground level.
Nomadd22 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 05:55 PM   #12846
Onn
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The United States
Posts: 1,544
Likes (Received): 173

image hosted on flickr


image hosted on flickr

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ellemar...48133/sizes/l/
Onn no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 06:22 PM   #12847
spectre000
Moderator
 
spectre000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: St. Paul
Posts: 7,906
Likes (Received): 5171

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krattle View Post
Wait, so they only have ~6 floors in the lobby portion, and then they jump to 20? So it doesn't really have 108 floors, they just chopped out 14. Doesn't any find that to be a terrible waste of space when they were able to fit a full 110 floors in the original World Trade Center?
They start the office floors higher for safety reasons. The podium is a designed to be a fortress/bomb shelter/panic room, whatever you want to call it. I do agree its kinda a waste of space. But this is the post 9/11 world. Some argue this tower has a big bull'e eye on it. So the goal is to make it the safest office tower in the world.
spectre000 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 07:17 PM   #12848
webeagle12
Registered User
 
webeagle12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Albany
Posts: 1,738
Likes (Received): 415

cam is working again after it got stuck yesterday
webeagle12 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 08:04 PM   #12849
kingsc
Registered User
 
kingsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 2,761
Likes (Received): 199

I don't know why most of you care about how many floors it is. Most of you will never see it from the inside. They don't need every itch of the building, for it to be what it is.
__________________
My site
Entertainmentcove.weebly.com
kingsc no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 08:08 PM   #12850
meh_cd
Registered User
 
meh_cd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 874
Likes (Received): 123

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krattle View Post
Wait, so they only have ~6 floors in the lobby portion, and then they jump to 20? So it doesn't really have 108 floors, they just chopped out 14. Doesn't any find that to be a terrible waste of space when they were able to fit a full 110 floors in the original World Trade Center?
No, the original WTC didn't have a full 110. They skipped floors just like this one. Not as many, but they still skipped floors for the lobby.
meh_cd no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 08:26 PM   #12851
Onn
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The United States
Posts: 1,544
Likes (Received): 173

NYatKnight, WNY, Feb. 4th 2010


Onn no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 08:46 PM   #12852
Viperfreak2
BANNED
 
Viperfreak2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 525
Likes (Received): 48

The standard office floors may look very similar to the exterior of 7WTC? With bevels on each corner. From that picture above, you could almost envision 7WTC lifted and placed on top of the 1WTC podium structure.
Viperfreak2 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 08:57 PM   #12853
Moby_
Registered User
 
Moby_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 64
Likes (Received): 5

1wtc is no longer dwarfed by it neighbours :-)
nice pictures onn
Moby_ no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 08:58 PM   #12854
dennis_Germany
Registered User
 
dennis_Germany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 52
Likes (Received): 1

can you see the new one wtc in the skyline behind the wfc wintergarden from a ferry ore somewhere??
__________________
Rebuild The Twin Towers of the World Trade Center !
dennis_Germany no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 09:06 PM   #12855
The seventh shape
Master of his domain
 
The seventh shape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,357
Likes (Received): 821

Can anyone show me if there are any threads for the other towers going up on the WTC grounds (especially the one with the sloped diamond-shaped top)? Seems like there's nothing on them.
The seventh shape no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 09:08 PM   #12856
Uaarkson
Sheet Metal Sketcher
 
Uaarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: East Side Flint
Posts: 2,528
Likes (Received): 1032

Quote:
Originally Posted by The seventh shape View Post
Can anyone show me if there are any threads for the other towers going up on the WTC grounds (especially the one with the sloped diamond-shaped top)? Seems like there's nothing on them.
2 and 3 WTC are in the proposed supertalls forum.

http://www.skyscrapercity.com/forumd...p?forumid=1718

4WTC is in the skyscrapers forum.

http://www.skyscrapercity.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1720
__________________
Manhattan http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7S1MySJoFl8&hd=1 (HD)
Uaarkson no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 09:45 PM   #12857
RKOwens44
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 140
Likes (Received): 0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomadd22 View Post
Uh...175 tons? Doesn't seem likely they trucked anything like that in one piece.
I know, I was thinking the same thing. Even the 767's which hit the towers on 9/11 only weighed about 150 tons. Which would mean that that one piece of steel weighs more than an entire 767. I'm sure Zen could answer.
__________________
"Long live the World Trade, long live the king" -Jay Z, Empire State of Mind
RKOwens44 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 10:01 PM   #12858
RKOwens44
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 140
Likes (Received): 0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krattle View Post
Wait, so they only have ~6 floors in the lobby portion, and then they jump to 20? So it doesn't really have 108 floors, they just chopped out 14. Doesn't any find that to be a terrible waste of space when they were able to fit a full 110 floors in the original World Trade Center?
Sorry to be the one to have to break it to you, but there is no Santa Clause, and the original Twin Towers did not have an actual 110 floors. In each tower, there was the lobby which was designated as floor 1, then the very next floor above the lobby was labeled as floor 7. There were no floors 2-6. The reason is was labeled floor 7, instead of floor 2, was because the lobby was about 60 feet tall and if you consider each floor to be 10 feet in height, the 60 foot tall lobby would be the equivalent of 6 floors. So they just labeled the floor above it as floor 7. Also, there were several mechanical floors which were basically just one taller than normal floor with an upper and lower level, so they labeled them as two floors even though they were arguably just one floor.

The new 1WTC is just following the same convention as the original Twin Towers (and most other high-rise buildings). The lobby is about 60 feet tall so they're just considering the lobby to be about 6 floors of the building. Then there are 5 mechanical floors above the lobby, below the lowest office floor (floor 20). Those mechanical floors are really tall and some have upper and lower levels, so height-wise they're just labeling it as 13 floors instead of 5. The base is a little over 186 feet tall, so if you're using the convention of 10 feet equals 1 floor, then that's 18.6 floors, or, rounding up, 19 floors.
__________________
"Long live the World Trade, long live the king" -Jay Z, Empire State of Mind
RKOwens44 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 10:52 PM   #12859
meh_cd
Registered User
 
meh_cd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 874
Likes (Received): 123

Quote:
Originally Posted by RKOwens44 View Post
Sorry to be the one to have to break it to you, but there is no Santa Clause, and the original Twin Towers did not have an actual 110 floors. In each tower, there was the lobby which was designated as floor 1, then the very next floor above the lobby was labeled as floor 7. There were no floors 2-6. The reason is was labeled floor 7, instead of floor 2, was because the lobby was about 60 feet tall and if you consider each floor to be 10 feet in height, the 60 foot tall lobby would be the equivalent of 6 floors. So they just labeled the floor above it as floor 7. Also, there were several mechanical floors which were basically just one taller than normal floor with an upper and lower level, so they labeled them as two floors even though they were arguably just one floor.

The new 1WTC is just following the same convention as the original Twin Towers (and most other high-rise buildings). The lobby is about 60 feet tall so they're just considering the lobby to be about 6 floors of the building. Then there are 5 mechanical floors above the lobby, below the lowest office floor (floor 20). Those mechanical floors are really tall and some have upper and lower levels, so height-wise they're just labeling it as 13 floors instead of 5. The base is a little over 186 feet tall, so if you're using the convention of 10 feet equals 1 floor, then that's 18.6 floors, or, rounding up, 19 floors.
I already covered it, and it's been said a thousand times, but maybe your post will finally shut people up.

I'll just say that according to our man on the scene, Zen, starting the offices at floor #20 was completely arbitrary. It kind of makes sense if you divide by 10, but if you divide by the actual floor height of about 14 feet you only get 14 floors, so it is all meaningless.
meh_cd no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2010, 11:06 PM   #12860
Taller & Taller
AKA Whynottaller
 
Taller & Taller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 246
Likes (Received): 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by RKOwens44 View Post
Sorry to be the one to have to break it to you, but there is no Santa Clause, and the original Twin Towers did not have an actual 110 floors. In each tower, there was the lobby which was designated as floor 1, then the very next floor above the lobby was labeled as floor 7. There were no floors 2-6. The reason is was labeled floor 7, instead of floor 2, was because the lobby was about 60 feet tall and if you consider each floor to be 10 feet in height, the 60 foot tall lobby would be the equivalent of 6 floors. So they just labeled the floor above it as floor 7.
Sorry, but you are wrong. Twin Towers did actually have 110 floors. The lobby was said to be 6 floors tall because the core had 6 different levels, as we can see here:

1st floor:


2nd floor:


3rd floor:


4th floor:


5th floor:


6th floor:



Quote:
Originally Posted by RKOwens44 View Post
Also, there were several mechanical floors which were basically just one taller than normal floor with an upper and lower level, so they labeled them as two floors even though they were arguably just one floor.
Despite being taller than a normal office floor, mechanical floors were counted as one floor each.


Floors 106th to 110th:




And it's the same with the other mechanical floors: 7-8, 41-42, 75-76.

The total number of floors on each tower was 116.

Last edited by Taller & Taller; February 4th, 2010 at 11:14 PM.
Taller & Taller no está en línea   Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
construction updates, development, ground zero, manhattan, new york city, nyc, port authority, supertall, world trade center

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Related topics on SkyscraperCity


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us | privacy policy | DMCA policy

Hosted by Blacksun, dedicated to this site too!
Forum server management by DaiTengu