daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > European Forums > Euroscrapers > Local discussions > Nordic & Baltic > General discussions > Photos

Old December 15th, 2006, 11:58 PM   #1
Ringil
The Big Cheese

Likes (Received): 27

Finnish Strongholds

In this thread I've tried to list the bigger Finnish castles/strongholds.
The castles listed here were built by Sweden between 1280-1750 (with exceptions), to defend the newly conquered Finland from "barbarians" in the east. I'm no expert on this, so be prepared for some faults

Map showing the location of the castles in chronological order

1 Turku/Åbo Castle Built: ~ 1280s
2 Vyborg Castle Built: ~ 1293 (in Russian hands today)
3 Korela Castle Built: ~ 1293 (in Russian hands today)
4 Kastelholm Castle Built: ~ 1300s, second part
5 Häme Castle Built: 1300s, second part
6 Raseborg Built: ~ 1370s
7 Olavinlinna Built: ~ 1475
8 Suomenlinna Built: ~ 1748

White dots: a few important strongholds/cities in the near region. (Tallinn, Narva, Koporye, Shlisselburg)

1. Turku Castle also known as: Åbo Slott, Turun Linna

Short Facts
Turku castle is the largest surviving medieval building in Finland, and one of the largest surviving medieval castles in Scandinavia. The castle has been subject to numerous sieges and several battles have been waged aside its walls. Of all Finnish castles, Turku castle has the most warlike history besides Vyborg castle and Olavinlinna. The Castle's heyday was in the mid-16th century during the reign of Duke John of Finland and Katarina Jagellonica. That was when the Renaissance Floor and King's and Queen's hall were built, along with other features.