daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > Infrastructure and Mobility Forums > Subways and Urban Transport

Subways and Urban Transport Metros, subways, light rail, trams, buses and other local transport systems



Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.


Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old November 23rd, 2011, 11:16 PM   #2661
Minato ku
Moderator
 
Minato ku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Paris, Montrouge
Posts: 16,759

In early November, 15 MF01 were in service on the line 5.
3 others were in test, it means that 18 of the 50 MF01 planned for the line 5 are in the network.



__________________
すみません !
J’aime Paris et je veux des tours !
Minato ku no está en línea   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old November 24th, 2011, 07:35 PM   #2662
HARTride 2012
Registered User
 
HARTride 2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 13,855
Likes (Received): 1976

EDIT

Last edited by HARTride 2012; November 29th, 2011 at 08:35 PM.
HARTride 2012 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2011, 10:56 PM   #2663
HARTride 2012
Registered User
 
HARTride 2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 13,855
Likes (Received): 1976

Arts et Métiers (Notice the Battlefield 3 ad on the wall)

HARTride 2012 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2011, 08:23 PM   #2664
Minato ku
Moderator
 
Minato ku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Paris, Montrouge
Posts: 16,759

Gare d'Austerlitz


__________________
すみません !
J’aime Paris et je veux des tours !
Minato ku no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2011, 08:31 PM   #2665
HARTride 2012
Registered User
 
HARTride 2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 13,855
Likes (Received): 1976


I've always wondered why Line 5 literally goes through the main train station of Gare d'Austerlitz, while Line 10 is underground. Is it because of the river crossing?
HARTride 2012 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2011, 08:37 PM   #2666
HARTride 2012
Registered User
 
HARTride 2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 13,855
Likes (Received): 1976

Quote:
Originally Posted by Minato ku View Post
In early November, 15 MF01 were in service on the line 5.
3 others were in test, it means that 18 of the 50 MF01 planned for the line 5 are in the network.
16 of the 18 are in service as of Nov 23, according to the French Wiki.

Also, a 6th MP 89C (#30) is in operation on Line 4 as of Nov 23 according to the site Symbioz (http://www.symbioz.net/index.php?id=101).
According to the same site, the following MP 59 are forever out of service (probably going to be scrapped): #s 6003, 6007, 6025, 6037, 6040, & 6049.

With the future of Line 11 looking more like it will be converted back to steel-wheel operation. I wonder if any MP 59 from Line 4 will go to Line 11 to prep for the extension. The English Wiki has too many conflicting details, and therefore, I cannot rely on it. I have done my best to keep the Line 4 and Line 5 articles in line with the French Wiki when it comes to rolling stock.
HARTride 2012 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2011, 08:40 PM   #2667
_Night City Dream_
Registered User
 
_Night City Dream_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19,191
Likes (Received): 101872

I will soon put here my photos and movies of Paris metro and its infrastructure.
__________________
Big Cities is one of the major inventions by human beings

My Baku / Мой Баку / 我的巴库

_Night City Dream_ no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2011, 08:41 PM   #2668
HARTride 2012
Registered User
 
HARTride 2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 13,855
Likes (Received): 1976


Awesome!
HARTride 2012 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2011, 09:49 PM   #2669
Minato ku
Moderator
 
Minato ku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Paris, Montrouge
Posts: 16,759

Quote:
Originally Posted by HARTride 2012 View Post
I've always wondered why Line 5 literally goes through the main train station of Gare d'Austerlitz, while Line 10 is underground. Is it because of the river crossing?
Exactly, the first Seine crossing were elevated.
It wasn't until 1910, with the line 4, that we had the first river crossing underground.

Viaduc d'Austerlitz (line 5) : 1905 (first commercial service in 1906)
Pont de Bir Hakem (line 6) : 1906
Pont de Bercy : 1909
__________________
すみません !
J’aime Paris et je veux des tours !
Minato ku no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2011, 10:06 PM   #2670
HARTride 2012
Registered User
 
HARTride 2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 13,855
Likes (Received): 1976


I see. Thank you!
HARTride 2012 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2011, 01:08 AM   #2671
Minato ku
Moderator
 
Minato ku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Paris, Montrouge
Posts: 16,759

Pyramides


__________________
すみません !
J’aime Paris et je veux des tours !
Minato ku no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2011, 02:01 AM   #2672
trainrover
:-x
 
trainrover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5,787
Likes (Received): 738

Quote:
Originally Posted by Minato ku View Post
Pyramides
Interesting. Were the passengers looking away from the bothersome camera, or are they genuinely considerate to look about them to see if anybody need to pass by them to get off the train, coz (that kind of) consideration ain't no Montreal custom no matter how busy it be?
__________________
.
hee hee
.
trainrover no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2011, 03:24 AM   #2673
Minato ku
Moderator
 
Minato ku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Paris, Montrouge
Posts: 16,759

I don't think that they remarked my camera (it is very small), so I beleive that it is for the second option.

___________________________________________

Paris metro has already the 2G, so you can use your phone in the metro (this also include internet) but connection can be slow. (I often go in SCC while I am commuting).
So it want to upgrate to the 3G.

Quote:
Internet bid for Paris Métro
PARIS Métro could have internet access underground within two years after transport network RATP asked the four service providers to come up with a plan - and some cash.

However, while the Métro was Europe's first to have a mobile phone service the move to provide internet access may not prove so smooth.

RATP wants to make a profit out of the project and has asked the ISPs to bid for the right to provide the high-speed 3G network across its 320 stations in the Métro and RER.

The four mobile companies have said they would prefer to work together. With up to seven million travellers per day - and one in two of them having internet-equipped smartphones - they want to share the load as happened when the 2G mobile phone network was installed 10 years ago. They say a single ISP could not handle the load.

It is thought some of the ISPs have complained to telecoms regulator Arcep that the RATP's plan for exclusive access on a public transport network ignores competition laws.

The work is expected to cost several tens of millions of euros - the 2G network cost €40m 10 years ago - and RATP commercial manager Marie-Catherine Lecoufle told Le Figaro that using one single operator would speed up the introduction of the network. She added: "However, the ISP are only really interested in around 50 of the stations - the most profitable - because there is more business there."

At present the Métro has internet access only using Edge technology or WiFi in stations but these connections are not reliable.
http://connexionfrance.com/Paris-Met...w-article.html

Quote:
RATP seeks single operator to upgrade Paris metro to 3G
Monday 28 November 2011 | 10:17 CET

Paris rapid transit authority RATP aims to set up a joint venture with one of France's four mobile network operators to deploy 3G equipment in the metro, Liberation reports. The upgrade from EDGE would allow the metro system's 5 million daily passengers and 1.6 million commuters on RER lines A and B to surf the internet on their smartphones when they are in tunnel sections operated by RATP. Liberation was told that RATP wrote to Orange France, SFR, Bouygues Telecom and Free on 5 October to gauge interest. The metro operator plans to award an exclusive contract to one of them, thereby raising the stakes in the bidding auction. RATP and its partner operator would form a joint venture to install the cellular equipment on which operators would pay roaming fees. RATP would earn its share of the profit. Given 15 days to reply, all operators said they were interested, but some wondered why RATP did not take the same approach as with 2G ten years ago, when it co-financed antenna installation with operators and allowed each to add further cellular equipment. RATP said its millions of passengers represent a lucrative market for operators and wants all of its property covered with 3G, rather than some 50 stations where every operator has its own equipment. Telecommunications regulator Arcep may become involved over the contentious issue of non-discriminatory access to the public space, writes Liberation.
http://www.telecompaper.com/news/rat...is-metro-to-3g
__________________
すみません !
J’aime Paris et je veux des tours !
Minato ku no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2011, 11:59 AM   #2674
Axelferis
Registered User
 
Axelferis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: A space between two worlds
Posts: 11,297
Likes (Received): 2254

@>Minato ku-> people look at your cameras and i wonder if someone didn't already threated to not film him
Axelferis no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2011, 02:54 PM   #2675
_Night City Dream_
Registered User
 
_Night City Dream_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19,191
Likes (Received): 101872

Minato Ku, I don't remember good coverage in Paris metro. Mobile network is present at some stations but not in tunnels. So, normally you can't talk on the phone while traveling in train.

Just to say by that in Moscow metro more than 50% of stations are under 3G and Beeline has also almost all tunnels covered so you can speak or surf on the net with no interruption.
__________________
Big Cities is one of the major inventions by human beings

My Baku / Мой Баку / 我的巴库

_Night City Dream_ no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2011, 02:54 PM   #2676
Sacré Coeur
Registered User
 
Sacré Coeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Paris
Posts: 2,151
Likes (Received): 534

Quote:
Originally Posted by Minato ku View Post
Paris metro has already the 2G, so you can use your phone in the metro (this also include internet) but connection can be slow. (I often go in SCC while I am commuting).
So it want to upgrate to the 3G.
Me too, every day in the metro, I try to connect to SSC.
Sacré Coeur no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2011, 02:58 PM   #2677
_Night City Dream_
Registered User
 
_Night City Dream_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19,191
Likes (Received): 101872

Quote:
However, while the Métro was Europe's first to have a mobile phone service the move to provide internet access may not prove so smooth.
Since when? In Moscow it's since 2001 - 2002 I remember it well as since 2002 I was noticing every station that was covered.
__________________
Big Cities is one of the major inventions by human beings

My Baku / Мой Баку / 我的巴库

_Night City Dream_ no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2011, 03:39 PM   #2678
LucaP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Paris [x] Milan []
Posts: 976
Likes (Received): 31

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Night City Dream_ View Post
Minato Ku, I don't remember good coverage in Paris metro. Mobile network is present at some stations but not in tunnels. So, normally you can't talk on the phone while traveling in train.

Just to say by that in Moscow metro more than 50% of stations are under 3G and Beeline has also almost all tunnels covered so you can speak or surf on the net with no interruption.
Never had a problem in the metro network, it's always on.

Totally different in RER network, some areas are not covered.
LucaP no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2011, 04:16 PM   #2679
Axelferis
Registered User
 
Axelferis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: A space between two worlds
Posts: 11,297
Likes (Received): 2254

from my experience coverage is good on metro

perhpas internet is a bit hard .
Axelferis no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2011, 05:31 PM   #2680
Minato ku
Moderator
 
Minato ku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Paris, Montrouge
Posts: 16,759

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Night City Dream_ View Post
Minato Ku, I don't remember good coverage in Paris metro. Mobile network is present at some stations but not in tunnels. So, normally you can't talk on the phone while traveling in train.
No tunnel are covered.
We can talk on the phone and use internet in the tunnel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Night City Dream_ View Post
Since when? In Moscow it's since 2001 - 2002 I remember it well as since 2002 I was noticing every station that was covered.
Since 2000.
__________________
すみません !
J’aime Paris et je veux des tours !
Minato ku no está en línea   Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
metro, paris, paris transport, subway

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Related topics on SkyscraperCity


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us | privacy policy | DMCA policy

tech management by Sysprosium