daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > Infrastructure and Mobility Forums > Highways & Autobahns

Highways & Autobahns All about automobility



Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.


Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old May 21st, 2009, 01:04 PM   #601
Qwert
Moderator
 
Qwert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12,409
Likes (Received): 2533

Interchange D2 x D4 Stupava South

Today there was official construction start of the interchange Stupava South. Officially it's part of motorway D2, but actually it's 3.2 km long half profile section of motorway D4. So we can say Bratislava outer ring is under construction


Map from www.highways.sk

For better understanding here is map made by me in Google Maps: http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UT...94c11c7fcf5edd

Last edited by Qwert; May 21st, 2009 at 01:10 PM.
Qwert no está en línea   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old May 21st, 2009, 02:22 PM   #602
H123Laci
BANNED
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Budapest, HUN
Posts: 1,647
Likes (Received): 3



a short section is already ready...
(between A/Sk border and D2 south of Bratislava)
H123Laci no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2009, 12:31 AM   #603
Timoth12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 976
Likes (Received): 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qwert View Post
Today there was official construction start of the interchange Stupava South. Officially it's part of motorway D2, but actually it's 3.2 km long half profile section of motorway D4. So we can say Bratislava outer ring is under construction


Map from www.highways.sk

For better understanding here is map made by me in Google Maps: http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UT...94c11c7fcf5edd
As we already discussed, it is the first northern section of D4, although officially signed as D2. Austria will probably start the construction of adjacent S8 expressway /from Vienna/ in 2011, full second motorway/expressway connection between Slovakia and Austria should be completed in 2018.
It´s good also for Stupava and Záhorská Bystrica, these sattelite towns will in two years have motorway connection to the capital. I am also quite often travelling to Stupava, so actually no reason for complain..
Timoth12 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2009, 05:15 PM   #604
Qwert
Moderator
 
Qwert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12,409
Likes (Received): 2533

R1 Žarnovica - Šášovské Podhradie

Photos from www.dialnice.info, map from www.highways.sk








Qwert no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 09:41 PM   #605
Timoth12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 976
Likes (Received): 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qwert View Post
Overall this section has been longly awaited. When driving on this route from Zvolen and seeing the dead end of Šášovské podhradie crossing I wish for continuation of expressway. Good to see that happenning. One thing that matters is not simultaneously constructed R2 bypass of Žiar nad Hronom. When driving from Handlová you have to cross the center of the city.
Timoth12 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 09:45 PM   #606
ChrisZwolle
Road user
 
ChrisZwolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Zwolle
Posts: 43,572
Likes (Received): 19366

Can you get a vignette at the D4 border (south of Bratislava)?
ChrisZwolle no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 10:03 PM   #607
Timoth12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 976
Likes (Received): 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisZwolle View Post
Can you get a vignette at the D4 border (south of Bratislava)?
Of course. D4-A6 is one of the most important crossings and the short section up to D2-D1 interchange is tolled. However, if you want to spare some money and drive in Bratislava only, exit A6 at Kittsee crossing, then drive on B50 through Berg and ca. 2km of B9. Then continue on 61 at crossing Incheba you can enter motorway, which is in the city free.
Sure, if you are continuing away from Bratislava, a weekly or monthly vignette is the best option.
Timoth12 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 11:58 PM   #608
keber
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 9,878
Likes (Received): 1364

Isn't usage of motorway from Austrian border to Bratislava free?
keber no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 11:59 PM   #609
mapman:cz
Ministerský rada
 
mapman:cz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: EU - CZ
Posts: 1,105
Likes (Received): 202

Quote:
Originally Posted by keber View Post
Isn't usage of motorway from Austrian border to Bratislava free?
It is not! http://www.ndsas.sk/spoplatnenie/10782s - at the bottom, Bratislava in circle...
__________________
mapman
mapman:cz no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 12:25 AM   #610
Qwert
Moderator
 
Qwert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12,409
Likes (Received): 2533

Quote:
Originally Posted by keber View Post
Isn't usage of motorway from Austrian border to Bratislava free?
Bratislava begins on Austrian border.

Google Maps are surprisingly accurate in this case. Free of charge are orange sections of motorways within Bratislava. Red ones are tolled: http://maps.google.com/?ie=UTF8&ll=4...5,0.30899&z=12
Qwert no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 01:04 AM   #611
Verso
Islander
 
Verso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ljubljana
Posts: 22,087
Likes (Received): 4749

Quote:
Originally Posted by mapman:cz View Post
It is not! http://www.ndsas.sk/spoplatnenie/10782s - at the bottom, Bratislava in circle...
Why do the old roads #2 and 61 require vignette? Where are you supposed to drive, if you don't wanna buy it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qwert View Post
Bratislava begins on Austrian border.
Yeah, Bratislava is enormous in size! All those settlements, Jarovce, Rusovce, Čunovo, Devín, Devínska Nová Ves, Záhorská Bystrica, are officially in Bratislava.
Verso no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 01:29 AM   #612
mapman:cz
Ministerský rada
 
mapman:cz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: EU - CZ
Posts: 1,105
Likes (Received): 202

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verso View Post
Why do the old roads #2 and 61 require vignette? Where are you supposed to drive, if you don't wanna buy it?
AFAIK the green routes require vignette only for vehicles over 3,5 t, it might be a measure to enforce those vehicles to use a motorway/expressway.
__________________
mapman
mapman:cz no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 04:13 PM   #613
bozata90
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sofia
Posts: 355
Likes (Received): 50

Quote:
Originally Posted by mapman:cz View Post
AFAIK the green routes require vignette only for vehicles over 3,5 t, it might be a measure to enforce those vehicles to use a motorway/expressway.
Yes, this is a newer EU regulation - you may toll major transit routes for vehicles over 3,5 t. here you have a full text:

http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/...0070101:EN:PDF

(for different languages just change EN above to FR/NL/DE/It etc.).
bozata90 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 06:19 PM   #614
Qwert
Moderator
 
Qwert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12,409
Likes (Received): 2533

D1 Bratislava - Trnava

Photos and two videos from www.ndsas.sk













Qwert no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 08:26 PM   #615
Mateusz
Registered User
 
Mateusz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 6,536
Likes (Received): 235

is it to make 2X3 ?
Mateusz no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 08:40 PM   #616
RipleyLV
Registered User
 
RipleyLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Jelgava
Posts: 4,635
Likes (Received): 2262

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mateusz View Post
is it to make 2X3 ?
No, it will be 3x3.
RipleyLV no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 08:43 PM   #617
ChrisZwolle
Road user
 
ChrisZwolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Zwolle
Posts: 43,572
Likes (Received): 19366

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mateusz View Post
is it to make 2X3 ?
Yes, but the current widening to 6 lanes is only temporary, and will lack shoulders if I understood correctly. There will be a full 2x3 with shoulders a couple of years later.
ChrisZwolle no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 10:35 PM   #618
Qwert
Moderator
 
Qwert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12,409
Likes (Received): 2533

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisZwolle View Post
Yes, but the current widening to 6 lanes is only temporary, and will lack shoulders if I understood correctly. There will be a full 2x3 with shoulders a couple of years later.
Actually, it will be rather 2+3+3+2, but in 2015. However, the motorway itself will be 2x3 only.
Qwert no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 10:35 PM   #619
H123Laci
BANNED
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Budapest, HUN
Posts: 1,647
Likes (Received): 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by RipleyLV View Post
No, it will be 3x3.
or 3^3
H123Laci no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 11:34 PM   #620
Verso
Islander
 
Verso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ljubljana
Posts: 22,087
Likes (Received): 4749

No, it's gonna be 3!.
Verso no está en línea   Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
motorways

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Related topics on SkyscraperCity


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us | privacy policy | DMCA policy

tech management by Sysprosium