daily menu » rate the banner | guess the city | one on oneforums map | privacy policy | DMCA | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > Infrastructure and Mobility Forums > Airports and Aviation > Airports

Airports discussions about existing airports



Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.


Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old February 26th, 2016, 04:50 PM   #981
SA BOY
South Straddie QLD
 
SA BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: dubai
Posts: 10,407
Likes (Received): 471

will qatar use the BA lounge s its one world?
__________________
Build High-The Pixies
SA BOY está en línea ahora   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Old February 26th, 2016, 06:51 PM   #982
EmiratesAirline380
Registered User
 
EmiratesAirline380's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver/Dubai
Posts: 1,992
Likes (Received): 580

Quote:
Originally Posted by SA BOY View Post
will qatar use the BA lounge s its one world?
I doubt it. You need to be a OneWorld Emerald or Sapphire member to use partner airline lounges.
__________________
EMIRATES AIRLINE

255 Aircraft - 150+ Destinations - 252 aircraft orders

ETIHAD AIRWAYS

124 Aircraft - 112 Destinations - 198 aircraft orders
EmiratesAirline380 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2016, 03:10 AM   #983
B787DL
FQTV
 
B787DL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris / Santo Domingo
Posts: 239
Likes (Received): 39

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmiratesAirline380 View Post
I doubt it. You need to be a OneWorld Emerald or Sapphire member to use partner airline lounges.
But Qatar is Oneworld as well, so technically anyone flying Qatar with a First/Business Class or OWE/OWS can use it.
B787DL no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2016, 12:02 AM   #984
EmiratesAirline380
Registered User
 
EmiratesAirline380's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver/Dubai
Posts: 1,992
Likes (Received): 580

Quote:
Originally Posted by B787DL View Post
But Qatar is Oneworld as well, so technically anyone flying Qatar with a First/Business Class or OWE/OWS can use it.
First and Business passengers will probably get access to the regular Dubai Airport lounge that all airlines share. That's how it was before. QR would have to make an agreement with BA in order to use their facilities.
__________________
EMIRATES AIRLINE

255 Aircraft - 150+ Destinations - 252 aircraft orders

ETIHAD AIRWAYS

124 Aircraft - 112 Destinations - 198 aircraft orders
EmiratesAirline380 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2016, 10:59 AM   #985
alb92
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 185
Likes (Received): 31

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmiratesAirline380 View Post
First and Business passengers will probably get access to the regular Dubai Airport lounge that all airlines share. That's how it was before. QR would have to make an agreement with BA in order to use their facilities.
I thought QR had their own lounge in the new concourse?

Anyway, QR might not be able to offer the BA lounge as their official lounge offering at DXB, but there is nothing stopping their premium passengers using BA, as they are both Oneworld.
alb92 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2016, 11:01 AM   #986
SA BOY
South Straddie QLD
 
SA BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: dubai
Posts: 10,407
Likes (Received): 471

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmiratesAirline380 View Post
I doubt it. You need to be a OneWorld Emerald or Sapphire member to use partner airline lounges.
i am
__________________
Build High-The Pixies
SA BOY está en línea ahora   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2016, 11:02 AM   #987
SA BOY
South Straddie QLD
 
SA BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: dubai
Posts: 10,407
Likes (Received): 471

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmiratesAirline380 View Post
First and Business passengers will probably get access to the regular Dubai Airport lounge that all airlines share. That's how it was before. QR would have to make an agreement with BA in order to use their facilities.
very poor facilities indeed at this multi airline regular business class lounge, in fact so poor i prefer to sit at departures and go to starbucks.
__________________
Build High-The Pixies
SA BOY está en línea ahora   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2016, 11:06 AM   #988
SA BOY
South Straddie QLD
 
SA BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: dubai
Posts: 10,407
Likes (Received): 471

one would think that Oneworld would have a common lounge like Skyteam has considering the amount of QR and BA flights .Jordanian and Maylasian and cathay so many users
__________________
Build High-The Pixies
SA BOY está en línea ahora   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2016, 03:00 PM   #989
mustafa_alp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
Likes (Received): 0

you can watch it on Nat Geo
mustafa_alp no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2016, 08:17 PM   #990
Sorvete na Testa
Bracho. Paola Bracho!
 
Sorvete na Testa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ciudad de México
Posts: 5,703
Likes (Received): 7012

Say good bye to fee-free travel in/out of Dubai International Airport.
Quote:
Dubai will now charge passengers to fly through its airports because of the oil crash

Dubai has found another way to raise cash, as the oil crash continues to take its toll on the broader region's economy.

Airlines will charge passengers flying through its airports a service fee of 35 Emirati dirham (about $10) from June 30, according to a government statement Wednesday.

Children under two, cabin crew, and transit passengers leaving on the same flight will be exempt.
__________________
Dead people don't speak!

mashine1984 liked this post
Sorvete na Testa no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2016, 07:36 AM   #991
EK413
Registered User
 
EK413's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,891
Likes (Received): 1895

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sorvete na Testa View Post
Say good bye to fee-free travel in/out of Dubai International Airport.
I've just transitted through DXB. It must be a first for me as I've travelled via other ports, DXB provides 1 hour free wifi & then charge US$4.95. Not nice considering I had a 3 hour transit time.
__________________
EK413
Good evening, ladies and gentlemen. We are tonight’s entertainment!

Last edited by EK413; March 31st, 2016 at 09:00 AM.
EK413 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2016, 11:01 AM   #992
Oasis-Bangkok
From Zero to Hero !!
 
Oasis-Bangkok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 15,934
Likes (Received): 51939



DUBAI POLICE TRAFFIC by SAUD AL-OLAYAN, on Flickr
__________________
Oasis-Bangkok no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2016, 08:22 AM   #993
The Real Gazmon
Registered User
 
The Real Gazmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 446
Likes (Received): 245

This may have been answered, but I've been watching the Ultimate Airport Dubai series on TV and was wondering how people are getting from the outside to the terminal? I can't really see from any maps, but it appears that there is a drop off point outside of the main airport and then I'm guessing people are then put on a skytrain to the terminals?
The Real Gazmon no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2016, 09:08 AM   #994
JustHorace
Couch Weight
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,699
Likes (Received): 573

Access to the gates is underground from the drop-off/check-in counters.
JustHorace no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2016, 06:01 PM   #995
alb92
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 185
Likes (Received): 31

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Real Gazmon View Post
This may have been answered, but I've been watching the Ultimate Airport Dubai series on TV and was wondering how people are getting from the outside to the terminal? I can't really see from any maps, but it appears that there is a drop off point outside of the main airport and then I'm guessing people are then put on a skytrain to the terminals?
The main part of the 'terminal' is under the apron. This is where check-in, arrivals, and the like are.

The buildings where you enter the aircraft from are the concourses.

For instance, T3 goes under ground and is directly connected to concourse B, while Concourse A is a skytrain away.

With the new councourse D for non-EK airlines, they will still use the same Terminal 1. Which is also under the apron, but closer to the concourse C area. However, instead of walking straight into concourse C, these passengers will now go on a skytrain to concourse D.
alb92 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2016, 05:30 PM   #996
Oasis-Bangkok
From Zero to Hero !!
 
Oasis-Bangkok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 15,934
Likes (Received): 51939

delete
Oasis-Bangkok no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2016, 05:33 PM   #997
Oasis-Bangkok
From Zero to Hero !!
 
Oasis-Bangkok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 15,934
Likes (Received): 51939



DUBAI INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT | DXB-OMDB by Ediney Ribeiro, on Flickr



Dubai airport 2016 by retail&food, on Flickr



Dubai airport 2016 by retail&food, on Flickr
__________________
Oasis-Bangkok no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2016, 01:34 PM   #998
A380-800
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 16
Likes (Received): 5

EK521 Thiruvananthpuram to Dubai crash landed in DXB airport.
All pax deplaned nil injuries per media.
Aircraft caught fire and completely damaged
A380-800 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2016, 05:57 PM   #999
shakman
Registered User
 
shakman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: PRMD - People's Republic of Maryland (via Richmond, VA)
Posts: 1,007
Likes (Received): 397

Quote:
Originally Posted by A380-800 View Post
EK521 Thiruvananthpuram to Dubai crash landed in DXB airport.
All pax deplaned nil injuries per media.
Aircraft caught fire and completely damaged
More likely completed destroyed.
__________________
Healthier Energy Choices:
www.viridianpresentation.info
www.viridian.com/sbelectric

"Followers do what is normal; leaders set examples"

-sb
shakman no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2016, 10:37 PM   #1000
Spam King
Make America Great Again!
 
Spam King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Polanco, Distrito Federal
Posts: 879
Likes (Received): 569

Are there any updates on Al Maktoum airport? Last I heard they had tendered the terminal expansion with estimated completion mid-2017. Has anything started there?
__________________
In the heart of a busy metropolis skyscrapers are a vivid reminder of the constant yearning of the human spirit to rise to God


MAKE AMERICA GREAT AGAIN!
Spam King no está en línea   Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
airport, dubai, emirates, south asian hub airport

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Related topics on SkyscraperCity


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us | privacy policy | DMCA policy

tech management by Sysprosium