Newcastle and the North East - Cycling Infrastructure and other Cycling-related issues - SkyscraperCity

forums map | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > Infrastructure and Mobility Forums > General Developments and Discussions > Cycling

Cycling All about fastest, healthiest and cheapest way to go around town

Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.

Old June 8th, 2010, 12:02 AM   #1
AngerOfTheNorth
Architect

Likes (Received): 131

Newcastle and the North East - Cycling Infrastructure and other Cycling-related issues

Cycle lanes/routes.

I've been cycling for several years now and there's a definite increase in the number of people doing the same. That's only going to increase as more people become aware of the environmental and health benefits and less people can afford the increased fuel, insurance etc costs as job cuts bite.

Yet our cycle network is awful, in the suburbs as well as in the city centre, where there are no cycle lanes at all presently, just "no car lanes", which throws cyclists in with lorries, buses, vans and taxis.

One thing that I would say is that on the busy roads, cycle lanes shouldn't be put in by simply repainting a bit of tarmac. You really do need to either widen the road slightly or have the lane physically separated with curb stones from the main traffic.

I would have thought that making people feel safer when cycling would genuinely increase the number of people doing it which in turn would reduce traffic on the road (allowing the council to avoid a number of other traffic improvements), make people safer and healthier and hit a lot of environmental targets.
AngerOfTheNorth no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old June 8th, 2010, 03:09 AM   #2
gregstone

Likes (Received): 27