Is Sketchup architecture's software? - SkyscraperCity
 

forums map | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > Fun Forums > Creative Corner

Creative Corner » 2D drawings | 3D designs | Stadium Design | Scale Models | Game Corner


Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.


Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old August 14th, 2014, 09:26 AM   #1
NanoMini
Wat's price of the earth?
 
NanoMini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,157
Likes (Received): 2534

Is Sketchup architecture's software?

Now many people like using this software. It's free. But I have a question, is it architecture's software?


http://static.filehorse.com/screensh...eenshot-01.png
NanoMini no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old August 14th, 2014, 09:31 AM   #2
NanoMini
Wat's price of the earth?
 
NanoMini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2,157
Likes (Received): 2534

You can download Skechup here: http://www.sketchup.com/download
NanoMini no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2014, 10:57 AM   #3
FlyingDutchman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 558
Likes (Received): 272

SketchUp is a nice and easy to use software to create 3D models. Some architecture firms use it to test design decisions, but it's too limited to be really 'architecture's software'.

You're not able to create (vector) drawings. If you'd like to know what kind of software architecture firms use: AutoCAD, Revit, Rhino are top choices. If you want to know what architectural visualisation offices use (this is an entirely different branch): 3DS Max is most for modelling, and Vray for rendering.
FlyingDutchman no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 11th, 2015, 10:21 AM   #4
ergotrv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 10
Likes (Received): 2

my interior designer use that software. But i don't really know for architecture..
ergotrv no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2015, 09:55 AM   #5
MelvinAdams
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 12
Likes (Received): 1

SketchUp is a really effective 3D modeling software and can be used for a variety of drawing needs. It can be useful for those who are engaged in the field of interior design, architecture, civil engineering, mechanical engineering, filmography and game design.
MelvinAdams no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2016, 08:09 AM   #6
spaceworks
an architect
 
spaceworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 86
Likes (Received): 23

I am an architect and I am using Sketch Up.
__________________
www.spcwrks.com
Spaceworks Incubatorium:
Architecture, urbanism, and various other nonsensical matters.
spaceworks no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2016, 04:34 AM   #7
momon9003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4
Likes (Received): 0

:)good

good
momon9003 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2017, 06:24 AM   #8
Felicity Lawrence
Registered User
 
Felicity Lawrence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Pretoria
Posts: 4
Likes (Received): 0

I'm not sure about this one. Seems to me that there is a big gap between Sketchup and actual CAD programs, both being unsuitable (civil engineers don't like SketchUp, and AutoCad is pain in the ass for architects).

There are good 3d morphing programs, and some fine design sketchup light weight programs, where architect's general idea can be easily presented.

But nothing can substitute good old cad, or 3d oriented cad programs.
Felicity Lawrence no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2018, 10:10 PM   #9
Mathews58
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 3
Likes (Received): 0

I just recently compare autocad and sketchup. the sketchup is too heavy that makes the PC slowing down but autocad is little bid faster. While Sketchup is covering only 64-bit OS but old version of autocad is covering both 32 and 64 bit environment. However, I have a question, i recently downloaded autocad (site used: http://www.filerabit.com/2016/06/download-autocad.html) and got "Don't Send" error box, can someone tell me how to fix it?
Mathews58 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us