The timeout wipeout - SkyscraperCity
 

forums map | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > Fun Forums > About the forums

About the forums » Testing | Archive


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 17th, 2019, 09:56 AM   #1
:jax:
Registered User
 
:jax:'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Södertälje
Posts: 1,480
Likes (Received): 858

The timeout wipeout

If it takes too long to submit a post, due to interruptions or other reasons, the posting will be cancelled. So far, so normal for a forum.

But SSC is nearly unique in that when this happens the post is irreplaceably lost. You have to recreate and post a new post. This is very upsetting if you spent energy on forming that post.

It also has an easy fix: Make sure that the cancelled post is appended to the error message. For extra convenience make it repostable, but even without it copy&paste is straight-forward.

By chance, this happened to me twice this week. Once here on SSC, that post is forever gone. The other on another forum.

There the error message said the below, and appended the timed-out post, complete with editing tools.
Quote:
The message has the following error or errors that must be corrected before continuing:
Your session timed out while posting. Please try to re-submit your message.
You do that, the issue is gone and soon forgotten.

(This is an old-standing shortcoming with this forum, viz this old thread, Losing posts due to timeout)
:jax: no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old October 17th, 2019, 11:30 AM   #2
Jan
High there, what's up!
 
Jan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SkyscraperCity
Posts: 29,507
Likes (Received): 20633

I guess this might have something to do with the cookie time-out setting. Even if you set it to 'keep me logged in' you want to post a message before the cookie normally expires. I'd say it is indeed a good idea that if you're going to be working for more than 5 minutes on a post, you write it on a notepad first and then copy it into the forums.
Jan no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2019, 12:32 PM   #3
:jax:
Registered User
 
:jax:'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Södertälje
Posts: 1,480
Likes (Received): 858

I do that, most of the time, from bad experience. When I forget, and am unlucky, I realise why I do that most of the time (generally, though, I just Ctrl+A Ctrl+C just before posting).

However this need not be a problem at all. There is, unironically, an easy fix. Append the failed post to the timeout error message (which cannot be more than a couple lines of code), and the user's data loss problem is solved.

I hate to say that something is simple to do in software I don't know, but this has to be just a step up from printing "Hello, world!". It is mirroring back the user's HTTP POST in (presumably) the single error page. It is side-effect free, state free, poses no risk.

The "go beyond" functionality (allowing you to edit/post even after a timeout) might be trickier, but that functionality is not a necessity, just a convenience (and a tiny one compared with the convenience of not losing your whole post).
:jax: no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old October 21st, 2019, 01:23 AM   #4
Rauth98
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 69
Likes (Received): 24

I believe if you do a ctr-f5 refresh on the error page, it will try to resubmit. Going back works as well sometimes.
__________________

:jax: liked this post
Rauth98 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2019, 10:26 PM   #5
Kpc21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Łódź
Posts: 25,217
Likes (Received): 10769

Recently another problem appeared which I didn't notice before. After I start typing before the page fully loads, when it loads fully, my text disappears. And Ctrl+Z doesn't restore it.
__________________
Leciała mucha z Łodzi do Zgierza...
Kpc21 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2019, 03:49 AM   #6
A Chicagoan
I Love Chicago!
 
A Chicagoan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Boston
Posts: 3,335
Likes (Received): 3247

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rauth98 View Post
I believe if you do a ctr-f5 refresh on the error page, it will try to resubmit. Going back works as well sometimes.
Yeah, if you use the "Reply to Thread" and not the "Quick Reply", you can go forward and back and the text will be saved.

But yeah, I was not aware of this issue. I have worked for more than 10 minutes on a post before (there was an argument on the thread on TRX 106 and I wanted to make sure my arguments were airtight), and there wasn't any problem.
__________________
I'm a Chicagoan and I'm proud of it!
Even though I don't live in Chicago anymore.
A Chicagoan no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2019, 11:42 AM   #7
:jax:
Registered User
 
:jax:'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Södertälje
Posts: 1,480
Likes (Received): 858

I didn't try the refresh last time around, but next time I will see if it works to turn off the Javascript before returning to the posting page (to add insult to injury I can see my post in the textarea window just a split second before it is wiped out, presumably by JS).

Anyway, to go back to original post, there is a permanent and easy fix, no workarounds ever required again: append the timed out message to the error page, ready to be copied.
:jax: no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2019, 03:22 PM   #8
jts1882
Registered User
 
jts1882's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
Posts: 7,631
Likes (Received): 17800

Quote:
Originally Posted by :jax: View Post
I didn't try the refresh last time around, but next time I will see if it works to turn off the Javascript before returning to the posting page (to add insult to injury I can see my post in the textarea window just a split second before it is wiped out, presumably by JS).

Anyway, to go back to original post, there is a permanent and easy fix, no workarounds ever required again: append the timed out message to the error page, ready to be copied.


Yes, that is very annoying. That brief hope that the message is saved, pulled away.

__________________
BBcode for displaying and resizing images: [resize=800][IMG]https://i.imgur.com/KILJFGB.jpg[/IMG][/resize]
jts1882 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:14 PM. • styleid: 14


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us