Looking for game where you drive on motorways - Page 6 - SkyscraperCity
 

forums map | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > Infrastructure and Mobility Forums > General Developments and Discussions

General Developments and Discussions » Bridges | Cycling | Maritime


Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.


Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old October 31st, 2008, 12:45 AM   #101
Timon91
Error
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: just outside Germany
Posts: 5,783
Likes (Received): 47

I have a game called A2 racer (an old dutch computer game) and I have the version with Germany on it. In one race, you drive from Munich to Vienna in just a few minutes. I'm afraid I cannot tell where exactly you drive, because this game doesn't work on my computer anymore for some reason. In another version of A2 racer, just in the Netherlands, you drive from Utrecht to Amsterdam in less then a minute. Immediately after you've left knooppunt Ouderijn, you see Hotel Breukelen on your right hand, and just seconds later you pass a windmill, followed by the Amsterdam Arena. I think they just pick some landmarks to make it look real, but to reduce the travelling time a little. IMO this works out quite well.
__________________
My Flickr account.
Some of my photoseries: Northern Ireland, Prague, Boston, Alaska part 1, 2, 3, Smoggy Moscow, Warsaw, Wrocław, Kiev, Donetsk, Odessa and Chişinău.
Timon91 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old October 31st, 2008, 12:46 AM   #102
Verso
Islander
 
Verso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ljubljana
Posts: 23,197
Likes (Received): 5785

A little. Ok, I see now, thanks.
Verso no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 01:27 AM   #103
DJZG
...rodjen na Balkanu...
 
DJZG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Zagreb, HR
Posts: 764
Likes (Received): 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verso View Post
Maybe, but how can you get from Rome to Warsaw in just 20 min, when your speed is normal? How does that work out, where do you actually drive? I also don't like those signs by Rome. Why are there Vienna and Munich on them, when in reality they aren't? It should be like in real world, or if you can't make it exactly like that, at least don't write cities you know aren't on signs; or is that one of the peculiarities of the game, and you can't really drive to Florence, but only to Vienna and Munich; I don't know how else you could be from Rome to Warsaw in just 20 min.
yep... i'm pissed at that too...
that was the case with 18 WoS series... only major cities were in game...
i mean, gameplay of Euro Truck is a pretty good simulation of driving on highways, but hey, it's 21st century... and game weighs only 300Mbs... they should have made it huge and place it on DVDs... that would be awesome...
but i guess no one really wants to lose time driving around and delivering cargo to make only virtual money
__________________
SimCity4 Contest
DJZG no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old October 31st, 2008, 10:47 AM   #104
ChrisZwolle
Road user
 
ChrisZwolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Zwolle
Posts: 48,172
Likes (Received): 26761

I want to drive in Google Earth. Wouldn't that be possible somewhere over time?
__________________

travel mapping • highway photography @ Flickr and Youtube
ChrisZwolle no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 12:26 PM   #105
DJZG
...rodjen na Balkanu...
 
DJZG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Zagreb, HR
Posts: 764
Likes (Received): 10

there is a flying option in GE... but that's not the same...
although it's not hard to make a game and use renders from GoogleEarth... basic ground is there, you just need to add 3D buildings to it...
it's a good idea someone will make that i'm sure
__________________
SimCity4 Contest
DJZG no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 01:31 PM   #106
Mateusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6,548
Likes (Received): 296

Quote:
Originally Posted by kajetanek View Post
hey, i have alarm fur cobra 11: nitro and it only races and carrier?
are there a freeride cuz i want to be free and driving in autobahn ;-D

You have to get through story mode first, then you can have kind of free ride I think
Mateusz no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 04:04 PM   #107
keber
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 11,015
Likes (Received): 2836

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisZwolle View Post
I want to drive in Google Earth. Wouldn't that be possible somewhere over time?
Railway simulators have real distances and pretty much real scenery. Maybe someone will do road simulator someday.
keber no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 06:09 PM   #108
ABRob
Registered User
 
ABRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: road-gap between Amsterdam and Berlin
Posts: 350
Likes (Received): 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisZwolle View Post
I want to drive in Google Earth. Wouldn't that be possible somewhere over time?
Try the "Monster Milktruck" in the Google-Earth Plugin:
http://earth-api-samples.googlecode....uck/index.html
ABRob no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 08:18 PM   #109
Timon91
Error
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: just outside Germany
Posts: 5,783
Likes (Received): 47

Quote:
Originally Posted by keber View Post
Railway simulators have real distances and pretty much real scenery. Maybe someone will do road simulator someday.
I have the Railroad Simulator 2006. It is quite realistic, but some things didn't work on my computer, so I couldn't really play it well.
__________________
My Flickr account.
Some of my photoseries: Northern Ireland, Prague, Boston, Alaska part 1, 2, 3, Smoggy Moscow, Warsaw, Wrocław, Kiev, Donetsk, Odessa and Chişinău.
Timon91 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 08:28 PM   #110
keber
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 11,015
Likes (Received): 2836

Actually Microsoft Train Simulator, although over 7 years old, is much more realistic than any version of Railroad Simulator, regarding railway operations. Even I made some routes, based on real life railways.
keber no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 09:15 PM   #111
Mateusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6,548
Likes (Received): 296

There was planned Railroad Simulator 2 but it got cancelled There is out new simulaton of trains from EA, it must good game
Mateusz no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 09:52 PM   #112
DJZG
...rodjen na Balkanu...
 
DJZG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Zagreb, HR
Posts: 764
Likes (Received): 10

there is MSRS 2 in process, i've read it somewhere... could be it is coming out this year or start of next year...
IMO i like Trainz Simulator more... don't know why... it is basically the same, i think i just hate Microsoft
__________________
SimCity4 Contest
DJZG no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 10:02 PM   #113
keber
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 11,015
Likes (Received): 2836

EA Rail Simulator is very good game (I own it myself), graphics are pretty good, but it is quite oriented to UK market, although various addons free and payware cover other parts of the world too
www.railsimulator.com
MSTS 2 is in development, release is expected no sooner than end of 2009.
www.tsinsider.com
keber no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2008, 04:46 PM   #114
kajetanek
Registered User
 
kajetanek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chełmno / Hamburg
Posts: 117
Likes (Received): 0

In Alarm for Cobra:nitro ,i can only going races and carrier ?
Cobra have free ride mode?
__________________
Tiere sind meine Freunde, und meine Freunde esse ich nicht.

— George Bernard Shaw
kajetanek no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2008, 07:53 PM   #115
DJZG
...rodjen na Balkanu...
 
DJZG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Zagreb, HR
Posts: 764
Likes (Received): 10

i've tried 18 wheels of steal: american long haul...
i played it only for a while, but seems a nice game... much more highways than in other 18wos games, and lots of traffic, intersections and new cities are added...
i'll post some pictures when i have time...
if anyone wants a copy feel free to pm me
__________________
SimCity4 Contest
DJZG no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2008, 08:17 PM   #116
Sponsor
Registered User
 
Sponsor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Poznań
Posts: 9,213

For the moment the best solution to enjoy virtual driving is to get the Euro Truck Simulator and download some map, trucks and play with wheel absolutely. Using keyboard is imo - stupid and unrealistic at all.
Check out PL map:



If you want to play on original map then get 18 Wheels of Steel: Pedal to the Metal <---- the best original 18Wos imo.
Sponsor no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2008, 03:26 PM   #117
Mateusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6,548
Likes (Received): 296

Hard Trucks with polish map are just best !
Mateusz no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2008, 05:47 PM   #118
Bahnsteig4
.
 
Bahnsteig4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vienna.
Posts: 5,707
Likes (Received): 94

Looks like an interesting game but I'm reluctant to buy it until I find out how many freeware add-ons there are for it. Any ideas?
__________________
VIENNA - Should Europe fear this city?

Austrian Forum - Support our Skybar!


Yes, for ****'s sake, all pictures I post were TAKEN BY ME
Bahnsteig4 no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2008, 05:54 PM   #119
Mateusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6,548
Likes (Received): 296

Actually there is quite big community on forum of polish distributor of this game (TopWare)
Mateusz no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2008, 01:17 PM   #120
DJZG
...rodjen na Balkanu...
 
DJZG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Zagreb, HR
Posts: 764
Likes (Received): 10

wait... you are saying there are maps for EUROTruck simulator? i searched few weeks ago but i didn't find any... and do they integrate those maps on current one or it is replaced completely by a new one?
__________________
SimCity4 Contest
DJZG no está en línea   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Croatia] - Motorways IX krzamak Cestovna infrastruktura 1030 January 28th, 2008 08:16 PM


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SkyscraperCity ☆ In Urbanity We trust ☆ about us