Ugly European cities - SkyscraperCity

forums map | news magazine | posting guidelines

Go Back   SkyscraperCity > European Forums > Euroscrapers > European Archives > Urban Archive > Eastern Europe / Balkans

Global Announcement

As a general reminder, please respect others and respect copyrights. Go here to familiarize yourself with our posting policy.

Closed Thread

Old May 27th, 2006, 07:33 PM   #1
solongfullerton

Likes (Received): 1

Ugly European cities

First off I would like to say that I am an American who has never lived in Europe, just visited on the cliche Eurail backpacking trip after I graduated from college. Also, I think that my thread title may be misleading, because I thought that most European cities that I saw were extremely beautiful and that it's too bad that your style didn't make it to the States in very many places.

Anyways, back on topic, my only experience with an unattractive city in Europe was in Athens, Greece. Not to upset anyone from there, as there are much uglier cities here in America, but it lacked the old world charm most of the places I visited had. Also, London wasn't the most charming city, but it also reminded me of New York City and had a very cosmopolitan vibe to it.

I am curious to see how you guys feel about other cities on your continent. Please share.

PS - Rome and Prague have got to be the most beautiful big cities Europe has to offer.
solongfullerton no está en línea  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old May 27th, 2006, 09:42 PM   #2
Küsel
Resurrected

Likes (Received): 163

In Switzerland Basel is generally an ugly city (apart from the old town). One of ugliest places I know is Mannheim/Ludwigshafen (but it has some industrial charme if you like that). Athens was the worst I've ever been, but that was 16 years ago and things seem to have changed extremly since then. Glasgow is also not a beauty - go to Edinburgh or Inverness instead.
Old May 28th, 2006, 03:16 AM   #3
Giorgio

Likes (Received): 493