SkyscraperCity banner

1 - 20 of 382 Posts

·
Feel the pungency!
27,354 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Athens. A city hated by so many, including most of its inhabitants, but I am not “most of its inhabitants” :) Sprawling, dense, and noisy, but also sunny, colorful and vibrant, with a bustling center hiding surprises at every corner, a unique mix of ancient and new, of traditional and modern, and a wild and varied nightlife offer that not many cities can match, Athens always fascinated me, and I looked forward to spending a few days in it every year when I was a student, when I had to go there to do some necessary document work. As life brings unexpected changes however, I have not been able to return there since 2007 when I left to pursue my master studies, and with the recent Greek debt crisis and all the drama my Greek friends seized the opportunity to make about it, I was curious to see how things had changed since my departure, because if you were to believe them the country had become unlivable. And here I get the opportunity I have been waiting for, as I have to take a trip during summer 2019 that might be a crucial turning point in my shattered life, and transiting through Athens International Airport turns out to be the cheapest and most convenient option. So here I am, on an early morning of late June, landing at ATH after a rather rough descent:

·
Feel the pungency!
27,354 Posts
Discussion Starter #2