Skyscraper City Forum banner
1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I have been following and reading this forum for quite sometime but this is my first time posting comments. I find this site to be one of the most interesting and informative sites relating to business and development. Further I love Chicago and want to Thank everyone that has helped make this site such an outstanding resource. It has truly helped me stay connected with everything going on. I felt compelled to give my thoughts regarding what might be (IMHO) one of the most significant business decisions ever made in this city. I realize there have been several conversations in different threads concerning the CBOT/CME merger but I think this is such a significant story it deserves it's own thread. I would like to talk about this situation in further detail because I believe it will make or break this city. I am very concerned about the our future position in the financial and business world IF ICE (not CME) grabs CBOT. Many bad implications here and I would like to discuss further. If there is a specific thread for this already I haven't seen it and please direct me. If not lets talk about this in detail.

·
The City
5,935 Posts
Welcome to the forums. I've been posting a lot on this topic in the Chicago Economy Thread. I've also been wondering a lot about this, and I think it was a good idea to start this thread.

That said, I really don't know what's going to happen. I think these CBOT members are being caught up in a proxy battle, and I'm only hoping that they vote the "right" way.

I believe that the ball is in CME's court. They can end this here and now if they outbid ICE, and I believe (from what I've read) it is within their means. However, they appear to be deploying some poker-like strategies and they are certainly making me uneasy. With all of the conflicting press, I can't even begin to guess what's going to happen.

·
The City
5,935 Posts