SkyscraperCity Forum banner

DISCUSSION | WLG Projects

193097 Views 1222 Replies 96 Participants Last post by  deepred
1 - 20 of 43 Posts
Hey guys,

I'm a bit new to the build spotting thing. Is there somewhere I can find info proposed/approved projects? Just search through property news or does city council make the info available?
Have you got a link to the WCC project page? They re-did their site and I can't find anything useful. Not even a list of granted building consents, which I'm sure were on there before.
a minor update.

Looks like Munns has finally moved out of 22-26 Willis. So demolition might start soon. Not sure if the 1876 building next door is going too. It's still occupied, so maybe not.

It's a earthquake prone building, so they are just going to replace it with another 2 story. Maybe something bigger later on. Will probably be like the new bnz next shop over.
I completely forgot to post this before. As part of Fringe they were having walking tours of historical Cuba St. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to make it to any of the times but the blog from the same person is pretty good. Has posts on history and current building topics as well.

http://cubastproject.com/2012/08/10/cuba-st-a-different-perspective/
The next couple post will be a photo dump from my walk around the city today. Just wanted to get a baseline for further updates. Plus there are a couple small interesting projects.
Wellington Pier dive platform

The story goes that kids kept jumping off the ambulance kiosk. This being Wellington, the city decided to build them an official platform. Notice that it's almost the same height as the building and much easier to get up to.

No belly flops allowed, anything else goes.

That is, if you were actually allowed to swim in the water. First time I've seen this sign, so it might be temporary. btw, see those kids on the far left. Yeah they're jumping into the other opening in the pier. I guess the sign doesn't apply to water that's 10m away.