Skyscraper City Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
5,198 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello :) Somehow I learned to love Sony semi-professional cameras... it's a pitty that they ended to produce the top-class semi-professional cameras in order to promote their lower-end SLR cameras that are somewhat worse.

Happily managed to jump on the passing train and bought a Sony DSC R1 already at the moment when the price on the remaining stock in Internet shops has started to rise.

In this year I have to produce some thousands of pictures from all over Latvia and have started to work. Here come some early pictures from Riga from this week. Be kind to me - I am still learning to manage this device ;) Most of the views have been seen here - but I hope that you won' t be unhappy to see them once more - just to be sure that Riga has not lost them.
- - -
Old City
Didn' t have much opportunity to be there. Just...

Swedish gate in Old City. One of the remaining bits of old fortification wall.

Boulevards
Opera square. When running in haste from Centre to Old City... this place takes off some stress.

Laimas pulkstenis - Art Deco style advertisement in Centre. Most popular meeting place.

Bastejkalns Hill. Hill in Riga - it looks even somehow unpolite and rough. It was built artificially in late 19th century.

Bastejkalns from the other side

Small Postmodern bridge at Bastejkalns (built in 2000). Everybody is surprised at something...

See it with your eyes. Newly wed pairs leave padlocks on city bridges - even if city authorities remove them from time to time, padlocks come again. Padlock producers have found new life for their semi-forgotten product.

Largest and oldest Ginkgo biloba tree in Baltics - planted in 1920ies.

Fountain in Vermane Gardens. There always are morons who steal parts of this beautiful fountain but City renovates it again.

Vermane Gardens with some relaxing people.

Busy traffic at Academy of Art

Area around Alberta Street