SkyscraperCity banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
349 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it very dependable, so-so, or is it not dependable at all? Please feel free to share your thoughts!

·
Premium Member
30,326 Posts
Hartford's bus system is so-so.

As a car driver, I don't know much about the system. But, while some lines go until 10PM-12AM, others stop before 6PM (before dark) and it doesn't go to all areas. Good news is that a busway and commuter rail are planned to be done. But it does get the job done. And the suburbs? Forget it.

According to the Census Bureau, almost 19 percent of Hartford residents use public transportation. But only four percent use buses in thw whole Hartford county.

·
Registered
341 Posts
In miami mass transit is an odd entity to say the least. we have an elaborate bus system, though they run really oddly and often show up at the station with 2 or 3 of the same bus line in a row, followed by 20 minutes of none of that line. it has to do with the signalling and the fact that the buses go immense distances in routes (say 50-80 blocks each way and then turn around and do it the opposite direction). we have a regional rail line that runs n-s and is rarely used, the metrorail (elevated subway) is also a single line and improving ridership and allegedly expanding. theres a smaller downtown elevated train that services downtown really well, but doesnt go outside of downtown.

there is an ironic moment with metrorail where the bridge going n-s (as most of the train does) and crossing the main e-w highway with a sign "why drive ? - ride metrorail" ive always wanted someone to spraypaint metrorail doesnt go where we are going or something. ive seen it 100 times in rush hour and wanted to blow it up.

·
Registered
16 Posts
It's not that great in Sacramento unless you live right off of a light rail line (which is limited and slow). The bus system is okay, but not that impressive.

·
Registered
61 Posts