Skyscraper City Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
5,346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay so I have a bit of a question which I need some help with-- here's the deal:

My boyfriend is in Quebec (near Montreal) for the next little while. With him always calling me from his cell phone, the long distance is getting quite expensive for him. He and I both have Toronto cell phone numbers.

If I call him from Toronto, will it charge me long distance, because he's in Quebec? Even though he has a Toronto area code in his number?

I have a calling card, but I'm not sure I can use it to call him because he has a Toronto cell number. Is there a way to do this?

Thanks guys! I promised him I'd sort this out before the next time he calls. Me calling him long distance isn't an option as I am a poor student, heh heh.

·
Premium Member
79,203 Posts
The cheapest way to phone is calling cards. A $10 CiCi will last FOREVER. Well, not forever but a very long time; something like 600 minutes. Global Vox is a good one to use from Montreal. If he calls from a pay phone, it will be very cheap. If you call his Toronto number, he will pay roaming charges. Text him and tell him to call you with the calling card, preferably from a pay phone if possible. Texting is cheap, and SKYPE is ultra cheap, but you have to call from your computer.
Hope some of that helps!!

·
Registered
5,346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yeah... Skype is great, and texting is cost-free, but those aren't an issue.

Good to know that I could use a CiCi card though-- I have them, but I figured they were only for long-distance, and assumed that I wouldn't be able to call a Toronto number (his cell) using the card. That's what I'll do from now on though. That way he's only paying roaming, and no long-distance.

I think that makes sense?

·
Premium Member
79,203 Posts