Skyscraper City Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My family is looking to relocate somewhere warmer than Iowa! We like Texas because it seems to have a lot of the same values; family-oriented, warm, and friendly.

We've checked out several places, but are interested in finding out more about Dallas/Fort Worth. I'm just beginning my research.

We prefer to live in suburbs or outlying suburbs - just far enough away from the city - but not so far we can't easily get around.

What's the best thing, worst thing, things to look for, things to avoid? Any info you can share right now would be appreciated.

We're also looking at the Round Rock area - but, wanted to find out more about Dallas first.
Thanks!

·
Registered
754 Posts
Well, there are miles and miles of suburban areas to chose from. Are you looking for a more established suburban area or are you looking for a fast growing area that literally wasn't there last week? There are trade offs with both options.

Stay north of the 190 (Bush Turnpike), west of the 75, and east of the 35E if you're looking on the Dallas side. Generally, the closer you are to the Dallas North Tollway, the more expensive the property in Plano. The closer you are to the 75, the cheaper the property. Frisco and McKinney are BOOMING suburbs right now and their growth is starting to cross the 380 going north. You can find very nice, modestly priced, quiet neighborhoods in both cities north of the 121. The DART (Dallas Area Rapid Transit) Red rail line runs up to the Parker Rd. Station in Plano, so you can ride light rail into Dallas.