SkyscraperCity banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
3,421 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dont blame me for starting a new thread blame it on bladerunner and arrpeegee :lol: they suggested it

Also is everyone happy with the spelling of the thread ? TOO MANY CAPS ? not enough ? Is it spelt wreight ? :lol:

Oh and is it spelt cameras or camera's ? lol

I'll start by saying, i've been considering getting a film camera for a while, there's a shop in the city centre here that sells nothing but film camera's they sell 35mm SLR's from the most recent to going back to the 70's and no doubt older than that.

They also sell lots of rangefinder camera's, does anyone have any knowledge or experience of either 35mm or rangefinder camera's ?

·
Doesn't like Reality
197 Posts
Hi,

I have some experience of 35mm, I had to use one for my C&G photography, but that was a while ago and now I can't remember much. Although they are very similar to the DSLR, only you have film in it instead!

I use Medium format or 120 and Polaroid so it's not much help to you...

If I were you I'd go proper vintage and go for something you have to manually wind on, then you can play around more with things like the double exposures, or don't fully wind it so the images half overlap and such. I guess it depends on exactly what you want to do with the film. Buy a £1 camera from a cheap shop, it'll be plastic and rubbish but produce some cool vintage photos. Also, exposed film is good, I'm yet to use any as it's not always that easy to get hold of.

However, you may not be into that sort of stuff at all! So um, I'll just shut up :D

It would be a good idea to invest in a negative scanner, and then you can choose your own settings rather than what a computer chooses at the developers. You'd be lucky to find anywhere that hand develops photos now, unless you have access to your own dark room with enlargers and such.

·
BAND
12,216 Posts