SkyscraperCity banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,699 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

My name is Vladimir Shibanov and I'm a street photographer from Novosibirsk (Siberia, Russia).

I'm shure that most of you will never attend Siberia and thats why I want to show you my hometown and and people here.

Warning! This thread contains black and white photography ))) I usually use Nikon FM3a film camera with fixed manually focused lenses and black and white films. Film helps me to focus on important things and moments, not to waste time shooting and processing "ocean" of digital images. You have only 36 exposures in your film. It is like your life - you have only limited opportunities, limited time and only one attemp to stress one impostant moment. Black and white film reduces the influence of details and paints people in relief way. Manual lenses makes you to be responsible for accents of the picture. And even manual film camera helps you to be very fast- it doesn't take time to stand by - the shutter opens right the moment you push the button.

Well, let's speak about street photography itself. I interested in daily life of people and the city is only a decoration of people's emotions. But people live in this environment and I have to put them together ))) Good architecture is a good background and it helps to tune the composition of your shot very thin. Bad architecture also plays important documental role - it shows real life.

Let's start from Constructivism architecture in Novosibirsk. Constructivism architecture was a form of modern architecture that flourished in the Soviet Union in the 1920s and early 1930s. It combined advanced technology and engineering with an avowedly Communist social purpose. Although it was divided into several competing factions, the movement produced many pioneering projects and finished buildings, before falling out of favour around 1932. Its effects have been marked on later developments in architecture.