SkyscraperCity banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there, this is my first post on the forum, and can I say, what a great forum this is. I've had a look around, and almost all of the buildings I've seen have been astounding, and such in-depth descriptions and discussion about them have been really impressive.

I'm a student from Glasgow, Scotland, and I'm hoping to study Architecture at university next year, namely Glasgow School of Art and Edinburgh College of Art. I have started a couple of designs, with research to back them up, and a little research into contemporary and historical architects. I'm hoping to write an essay or 2 comparing work of two architects from different time periods. My model-making is slow, and I don't have any completed pieces (other than one I made 2 years ago for a school project - student accommodation on the River Clyde, if you were wondering), though I intend on creating more. I have attained most of the Higher qualifications that I need for admittance, with the lack of 1 B (ABBB in the case of Glasgow School of Art, and BBBB in the case of Edinburgh College of Art)

Higher-
A- Art & Design
B- Computing
B- Mathematics
C- English
C- Physics
C- RMPS

Adv. Higher-
C- Art & Design

Essentially, I'm looking for assistance in creating my 10 pieces for entry at Glasgow, and what would be the most important elements someone would look for when determining what candidates to be admitted. Also, as I lack 1 B, would this be extremely detrimental, or would my C in Advanced High, or my 3 C Highers make up for this?

Lastly, has anyone studied architecture where a portfolio was required, and if so (or even if you haven't :D), what did you include, and what should I?

Many thanks for the help, I hope I'm not stepping over the line with such a big request. :blahblah::lol:

·
Registered
10,022 Posts