SkyscraperCity banner

1 - 20 of 1650 Posts

·
Registered
562 Posts
The train system is definitely a huge part of the daily lives of many people in Chicago, and is my main form of transportation. Downtown and the areas right around it are the best covered. See for yourself:

·
Registered
395 Posts
It is a huge part of my life being that I don't have a car. I've been riding it for over 15 years now (except for a few years when I moved away) and can say that while it isn't the best system out there, it serves us pretty good. Now if they could just sort out those funding issues.

·
Formerly InTheLoop
485 Posts
The CTA sucks, but it's all we have, and one learns to put up with it's inconsistancies. That said, as much as you may hear us Chicagoan's complain about the CTA, I could not imagine life without it. Not to mention, some of the most spectacular views of the city are from the "L".
I wouldn't let it prevent me from thinking about moving to Chicago.

·
born again cyclist
3,659 Posts
i LOVE the L and i LOVE the fact that i get to ride it everyday. i know i'm gonna sound like an arrogant big city snob, but if i were to ever live in a city without a big massive rapid transit rail system, i'd really, really miss it.

big comprehensive rail systems, be they subway or elevated, are one of the key inidcators that seperates the urban heavy hitters from the lesser cities.

·
Registered
243 Posts
InTheLoop said:
The CTA sucks, but it's all we have, and one learns to put up with it's inconsistancies. That said, as much as you may hear us Chicagoan's complain about the CTA, I could not imagine life without it. Not to mention, some of the most spectacular views of the city are from the "L".
I wouldn't let it prevent me from thinking about moving to Chicago.