Skyscraper City Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,861 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI Guys

First off, I am a resident of HK and been a member of SSC for many years. This is my first posting in HKSSC. I would like to know if anyone of you could give me the technical details as to what kind of concrete grade and other mixtures that are used to build concrete roads in Hong Kong?

The reason is that I have found HK roads are built at a very fast rate due to the quick drying of concrete after laying. In third world countries or developed countries, concrete used takes 3-4 days of curing with water paddies made on the surface to retain water.

Also - what kind of concrete is used for buildings exterior and interior walls? Observed that these too dry and set very quickly thus rate of build-up is quicker.

Any knowledgeable replies to this post will be highly appreciated.

Regds
p2p4
Hong Kong

·
Registered
4,498 Posts
HI Guys

First off, I am a resident of HK and been a member of SSC for many years. This is my first posting in HKSSC. I would like to know if anyone of you could give me the technical details as to what kind of concrete grade and other mixtures that are used to build concrete roads in Hong Kong?

The reason is that I have found HK roads are built at a very fast rate due to the quick drying of concrete after laying. In third world countries or developed countries, concrete used takes 3-4 days of curing with water paddies made on the surface to retain water.

Also - what kind of concrete is used for buildings exterior and interior walls? Observed that these too dry and set very quickly thus rate of build-up is quicker.

Any knowledgeable replies to this post will be highly appreciated.

Regds
p2p4
Hong Kong
On the road portion, the typical for the surface slab is grade 40/20.
There are some more technical information on the Highway Department webpage:
http://www.hyd.gov.hk/eng/public/publications/guidance_notes/index.htm