SkyscraperCity banner
1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Banned
29,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Many of you had seen my photo threads on some large American cities such as Boston and Philadelphia, New York and Orlando and others. I decided to create a thread dedicated to the whole country as witnessed by me. During my temporary but long stay, I tried to visit as many places as I could, both for pleasure and business.

At first I thought of putting one of my pictures of the Capitol in Washington D.C. as the first picture in this thread, but what America really is about is roads.

I worked as a salesman driving from town to town, city to city in the surrounding area of the New York City and sometimes I took my camera with me.

I intend to upload this thread with some short descriptions and *less* pictures of the aforementioned cities than their respected threads had.

I begin. Arriving in Yonkers, a small town just above NYC with a population of 200,000 but which feels like no more than two thousand, I stop for a minute break when I see this nice green area to my right.

The town itself feels both like New York and at the same time very provincial, especially when I saw a tractor drive pass by me. In one of the outskirts, I stop to take a picture of splendid nature that is everywhere in Yonkers.

City has some interesting clearly European in style pieces of architecture in downtown

Hours later I'm done and head back to THE city

And just a random picture of a morning drive on the BQE (Brooklyn-Queens Expressway). On the left is Jersey City, on the right lower Manhattan (NYC).

To be continued

·
Banned
29,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Now we're on our way to the or one of the most dangerous American cities.

In 1996, MONEY Magazine ranked Newark "The Most Dangerous City in the Nation."[37] In 2006, Newark had 104 homicides, which was the highest since 1995 and a spike from the 83 in 2004.